Elina Backman’s ALL THE KING’S MEN wins the Storytel Award

It’s our great pleasure to announce that Elina Backman’s novel ALL THE KING’S MEN (aka WHEN THE KING DIES) won the Storytel Audio Book Award for the Best Crime Novel of 2020! Congratulations Elina!

This new detective series has already sold in 13 territories and counting! And furthermore, an international TV series is in development by Aurora Studios! Join the success of this bestselling Finnish crime series – conquering the world!

Rights are still available in France, Denmark, Spain, Hungary, Turkey, Latvia, Bulgaria, Romania and in US/UK etc.

“All the King’s Men” follows Jan, a Helsinki-based police officer investigating a ritualistic murder taking place at Suomenlinna Sea Fortress. Meanwhile in idyllic countryside an ex-journalist Saana starts to dig up information of a girl who died in the 80’s in Hartola – in the only kingdom in Finland. Jan and Saana’s paths will cross – for more than one reason.


All the King’s Men is skillfully told through many different characters, and it progresses on two time levels. Backman has created a a wonderfully atmospheric story taking place in summery Finland,  and especially the town of Hartola is depicted well. An ambitious novel for a debut author, but Backman succeeds effortlessly. Many elements of a classic mystery novel  build up to an entity that rewards its readers. The influenced of domestic and international authors is visible, but it only adds the great reading experience.”

About the book:

Saana has been fired from her job as a click-bait journalist, so she decides to spend a summer with her aunt in a small-town Hartola. It sounds like a perfect opportunity to take it easy and recover. But when Saana begins to dig into a case of a teenage girl who died 30 years earlier, the peace of the small town is shaken.

Meanwhile in Helsinki a fire-marked body is found at Suomenlinna Sea Fortress, and crime investigator Jan Leino and his team have a new case in their hands. However, the investigation isn’t going anywhere, and Jan fears that the murder at King’s Gate a is just the beginning…

Saana and Jan continue working on their own cases until their paths cross – for more than one reason.

About the author:

Elina Backman is a media & marketing professional living in Helsinki, in an old wooden 1920 house with a family of 2 kids and a husband. Elina loves books (all sorts), travelling, cycling and is a host of a Book & Wine Club. She is a creative soul with a commercial mind, and her goal is to find readers globally – her dream is a Netflix series based on her novels

Rights sold:

FINLAND: Otava (orig.)
ITALY: Newton Compton
NORWAY: Cappelen Damm
POLAND: Czarna Owca
RUSSIA: Mann, Ivanov and Ferber
SLOVAKIA: Arkus Vydavatelstvo
SWEDEN: Bokfabriken
TV: Aurora Studios

Elina Backman

Elina Backman is a media & marketing professional living in Helsinki, in an old wooden 1920 house with a family of 2 kids and a husband. Elina loves books (all sorts), travelling, cycling and is a host of a Book & Wine Club. She is a creative soul with a commercial mind, and her goal is to find readers globally – her dream is a Netflix series based on her novels.

Her debut novel When the King Dies was published in May 2020 and has immediately gained an enormous amount of attention from the Finnish media, including a praising review by the biggest daily newspaper Helsingin Sanomat and becoming an immediate bestseller in Finland with 10,000 copies sold in all formats. When the King Dies has been to-date sold in 11 territories and international TV series is in development.


Elina Backman

Still Waters Run Deep (a.k.a The Isle of Sheep)

2021, Crime & Suspense

Elina Backman

All the King's Men (a.k.a. When the King Dies)

2020, Crime & Suspense

Related news

Three new deals! CARGO and SWING now sold in 11 territories!

We are excited to announce that our spring crime highlight “Cargo“, and its sequel “Swing” by new Nordic Noir supercouple A.M. Ollikainen have now been acquired by publishers from 11 countries in three weeks!

The first title of the Paula Pihlaja series – CARGO – will be published in Finland by Otava as their lead title in May 2021.

The latest publisher to join A.M. Ollikainen publishers’ family is Czarna Owca in Poland that won a very exciting auction (Czarna Owca is Polish publisher for Stieg Larsson, Camilla Läckberg, Elina Backman etc)

That is not all, The Turkish rights for both of the titles were acquired by April and Latvian rights were acquired by Zvaigzne (Latvian Jo Nesbø, Stieg Larsson publisher)

Cargo is the first book in a new fast-paced and addictive Paula Pihlaja series, which has previously been acquired by excellent Nordic Crime publishers: Host in Czechia, Varrak in Estonia, Bastei Lübbe in Germany, Animus in Hungary, Baltos lankos in Lithuania, HarperCollins Holland in the Netherlands, Aschehoug in Norway, and Didakta in Slovenia.

Download the English sample and long synopsis for CARGO here.

The rights for this very exciting award-winning title and series are still available in Italy, France, Spain, Denmark, Russia, Sweden, France, US, UK, Bulgaria, Spain, China, Korea etc.

„Cargo” is a fast-paced story with suspense until the end and well-drawn main character—an intelligent, empathetic and pragmatic police commissioner, Paula Pihlaja. The other characters also have clear psychological outline and natural dialogues which fuel the reader’s curiosity. All those things make „Cargo” impossible to put down. I am glad that Polish readers will be able to take part in this criminal feast.– Dominika Dudarew-Osiecka, Czarna Owca, Poland

Finland is the new Mecca of crime fiction. You need proof? Just read the first novel by A.M. Ollikainen. I couldn’t imagine a better start for a series. CARGO is outstanding.
– Marco Schneiders,  Publishing Director, Bastei Lübbe

A.M. Ollikainen is a new Nordic Crime supercouple Milla Ollikainen and Aki Ollikainen.

Aki Ollikainen is one of the best literary fiction authors of Finland, whose novel White Hunger was longlisted to the International Man Booker Prize and whose works have been sold to 15 countries.
Milla Ollikainen is the previous winner of the “Crime Pays” crime novel competition of Finland and the author of a successful crime trilogy.

Cargo is their first title written together, which won the Finnish national crime novel competition in 2019 over 400 other manuscripts. The book is the first part of the upcoming Paula Pihlaja series.
It will be published by the largest Finnish publisher Otava in May 2021 as their lead Fiction title for the Spring list.

by A.M. Ollikainen

The first book in a new fast-paced and addictive Nordic Noir series. A.M. Ollikainen is Finland’s Lars Kepler!

  • Winner of a National Crime Novel Competition

A cargo container is found on the shore in Helsinki with a dead body inside.The property where the container is discovered, belongs to one of the most notorious businessmen in Finland. As Police Commissioner Paula Pihlaja begins to investigate the case, traces lead back to the businessman’s family, revealing decades of suspicious business ventures in Africa.

Meanwhile, Paula’s own personal life is shaken by old memories that are now surfacing following recent events.When she was younger, she had to give her baby up for adoption. The boy, her son, is now in his twenties and facing a murder charge. Not only is Paula tormented by her own guilt about the adoption, she is also worried about what will become of her son.


FINLAND: Otava (orig.)

(2-book deal)
(2-book deal)
GERMANY: Bastei Lübbe
(2-book deal)
(2-book deal)
LITHUANIA: Baltos lankos
(5-book deal)
LATVIA: Zvaigzne
(2-book deal)
NETHERLANDS: HarperCollins Holland
(2-book deal)
NORWAY: Aschehoug
POLAND: Czarna Owca
(2-book deal)
(2-book deal)