Elina Ahlbäck Literary Agency Oy Ltd., est. 2009, is one of the leading literary agencies in the Nordic countries and Finland’s #1 literary agency representing award-winning and bestselling Finnish and Nordic authors’ and illustrators’ book, film & TV rights in international markets. Ahlback Agency was established in June 2009 by Elina Ahlbäck, who has enjoyed a successful career in publishing and bookselling since 1982. Ahlback Agency’s head office is located in the heart of Helsinki, with offices in Los Angeles and New York. In 2020, the Agency was shortlisted for The 2020 International Excellence Awards as one of the TOP3 Literary Agencies in the World at the London Book Fair. The fastest growing business area is selling stories and media rights to the Hollywood entertainment industry and international production companies in film, TV and streaming industries. The Agency also represents U.S. publishers and their authors exclusively in the Scandinavian markets.

Ahlback Agency sells book, film and TV rights in fiction, children’s books and non-fiction to publishers and producers all around the world and negotiates the best possible contract, including a marketing plan, for its clients. We are regular participants at the Frankfurt Book Fair, the London Book Fair, the Bologna Children’s Book Fair and Gothenburg Book Fair and we have representation at international film & TV festivals.

Meet the team


Elsa Lindström

Literary Agent

elsa@ahlbackagency.com


Sten-Erik Tammemäe

Literary Agent

sten-erik@ahlbackagency.com


Anna Kappauf

Literary Agent

anna@ahlbackagency.com


Mimi Matinpalo

Literary Agent

mimi@ahlbackagency.com


Elina Ahlbäck

CEO, Literary Agent

elina@ahlbackagency.com


Linda Powell

Rights & Contracts Coordinator

linda@ahlbackagency.com

Our Co-agents


Abigail Koons

Literary Agent, World English Rights, New York

akoons@parkfine.com


Gudrun Giddings

Media Rights' Representative, Los Angeles

info@ahlbackagency.com

The Grayhawk Agency

China & Taiwan

Japan UNI Agency, Inc.

Japan

Danny Hong Agency

Korea

Contact us

info@ahlbackagency.com

Our story

The story of the Elina Ahlback Literary Agency began in Manhattan, New York, on the Brooklyn Banks, in February 2009. While Elina’s son was skating in this skate park under the Brooklyn Bridge,

the courageous decision to establish the agency was made — with its mission to build bridges between authors and publishers worldwide and with its passion to internationalize Finnish literature.

story-brooklyn Photo: Brooklyn Banks, Brooklyn Bridge, New York February 2009 © Elina Ahlbäck