Elina Ahlbäck Literary Agency Oy Ltd., est. 2009, is one of the leading literary agencies in the Nordic countries and Finland’s #1 literary agency representing award-winning and bestselling Finnish and Nordic authors’ and illustrators’ book, film & TV rights in international markets. Ahlback Agency was established in June 2009 by Elina Ahlbäck, who has enjoyed a successful career in publishing and bookselling since 1982. Ahlback Agency’s head office is located in the heart of Helsinki, with offices in Los Angeles and New York. In 2020, the Agency was shortlisted for The 2020 International Excellence Awards as one of the TOP3 Literary Agencies in the World at the London Book Fair. The fastest growing business area is selling stories and media rights to the Hollywood entertainment industry and international production companies in film, TV and streaming industries. The Agency also represents U.S. publishers and their authors exclusively in the Scandinavian markets.

Ahlback Agency sells book, film and TV rights in fiction, children’s books and non-fiction to publishers and producers all around the world and negotiates the best possible contract, including a marketing plan, for its clients. We are regular participants at the Frankfurt Book Fair, the London Book Fair, the Bologna Children’s Book Fair and Gothenburg Book Fair and we have representation at international film & TV festivals.

Meet the team

Anna Kappauf

Sales Lead & Literary Agent

anna@ahlbackagency.com

Elina Ahlbäck

CEO, Literary Agent

elina@ahlbackagency.com

Julia Bogen

Literary Agent

julia.bogen@ahlbackagency.com

Linda Powell

Rights & Contracts Manager

linda@ahlbackagency.com

Sten-Erik Tammemäe

Literary Agent

sten-erik@ahlbackagency.com

Our Co-Agents


Anna Ascolies

Literary Agent, IMC Literary Agency, Barcelona (Spain)

anna@iemece.com


Hannah Brattesani

Literary Agent, Friedrich Agency, New York

hbrattesani@friedrichagency.com


Corinne Marrotte

Literary Agent, Marotte et Compagnie, France

corinne@marotteetcompagnie.ag


Hanna Thorén

Literary Agent, Marotte et Compagnie, France

hanna@marotteetcompagnie.ag

Danny Hong Agency

Korea


The Grayhawk Agency

China & Taiwan


Tuttle-Mori Agency, Inc.

Japan


Contact us

Our story

The story of the Elina Ahlback Literary Agency began in Manhattan, New York, on the Brooklyn Banks, in February 2009. While Elina’s son was skating in this skate park under the Brooklyn Bridge, the courageous decision to establish the agency was made — with its mission to build bridges between authors and publishers worldwide and with its passion to internationalize Finnish literature.

story-brooklyn

Photo: Brooklyn Banks, Brooklyn Bridge, New York February 2009 © Elina Ahlbäck