The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

Original title: Viattomuuden loppu

Author: Leena Lehtolainen

Published: 2017

Publisher: Tammi

Genre: Crime & Suspense

Pages: 464

Part of a series: Maria Kallio series

Reading material:

English sample & synopsis

German edition
Finnish edition

Book 14 in the bestselling Maria Kallio series. A female detective police procedural, The End of Innocence is also a study of young men’s fragile sexuality. Perfect for fans of Lynda La Plante’s DCI Jane Tennison series.

When a newly-released child molester is found dead in an abandoned playground, the case lands on Maria Kallio’s desk. As newly-appointed chief of the child & youth crime unit, Kallio finds herself with a highly sensitive homicide case on her hands, with suspects including the deceased’s victims and their relatives. A harrowing case for Maria, the mother of a teenage son herself, the novel examines whether we can survive abuse, and privacy in the age of the internet.

Download reading materials

Rights sold:
FINLAND: Tammi (orig.)
GERMANY: Rowohlt
TV RIGHTS: Jarowskij Finland

Video

About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 29 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music from 70’s punk to Schubert and Bach – just like Maria Kallio.

Bibliography


2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

Leena Lehtolainen

The Crossing of the Green Dragon


2021, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Lynx Factor


2020, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Ripple Effect


2019, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Oathbreaker


2018, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Killer's Girlfriend


2017, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The End of Innocence


2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

Leena Lehtolainen

The Charm of Ice


2016, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Eye of the Tiger


2015, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

A Stroke of Sadness


2013, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Iron Triangle


2012, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Devil's Cubs


2011, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Lion of Justice


2010, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone


2009, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Bodyguard


2008, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Derailed


2005, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Nightingale Murder


2003, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Below the Surface


2000, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Before I Go


1998, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Fatal Headwind


1997, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Death Spiral


1996, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Snow Woman


1995, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Copper Heart


1994, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Her Enemy


1993, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

My First Murder