Film News: The Memory of Water receives production support

We are thrilled to share exciting film news for Memory of Water, based on the novel by Emmi Itäranta!

Production company Bufo received production support for their dystopian drama Memory of Water, based on a novel by Emmi Itäranta. Saara Saarela will direct, with Misha Jaari and Mark Lwoff as producers. The film has already participated in Frontières Fantasia and Ties That Bind.

Memory of Water (Teemestarin kirja, Teos 2012) tells the story of seventeen-year-old Noria, set to become the next tea master in her village. The story is set in a drought-ravaged, war-ridden future world where fresh water has become the privilege of a few and tea masters have been the keepers of natural springs for centuries. Rights are sold in 23 territories and counting!

Read more from here: Finnish Film Foundation production support.

Rights sold:

FINLAND, Teos (Orig. publisher)
ARABIC, Dar Al Muna
BRAZIL, Record
CHINA, Sichuan People’s Publishing House
CZECH REPUBLIC, Albatros Media/Plus
DENMARK, Turbine
ESTONIA, Koolibri
FRANCE, Place des Editeurs
GEORGIA, Palitra L Publishing
GERMANY, DTV/Reihe Hanser
HUNGARY, Metropolis Media
ITALY, Piemme
JAPAN, Nishimura Shoten
KOREA, The Book in My Life
LATVIA, Janis Roze
LITHUANIA, Nieko Rimto
NORWAY, Gresvik Forlag
RUSSIA, Text Publishers
SPAIN, Ediciones B.
SWEDEN, Modernista
TURKEY, Dogan Egmont
WORLD ENGLISH, HarperCollins