German rights sold to Leena Lehtolainen’s forthcoming bestseller RIPPLE EFFECT

We couldn’t be more excited to announce that Rowohlt acquires German rights to Leena Lehtolainen forthcoming Maria Kallio novel Ripple Effect (Maria Kallio #15), to be published in August 2020 in Finland by Tammi Publishers. Rowohlt has previously published all the books in the Maria Kallio series.

“With her usual cleverness Leena Lehtolainen combines a gripping new Maria Kallio case with highly relevant social topics such as identity, racism, sexism, and the need for more tolerance.  Perceptive and enthralling!”
– Dinah Sophie Fischer, Editor, Rowohlt, Germany

Maria Kallio Series is the most succesful Finnish book series in the world with over 2 million copies worldwide and been translated into 30 languages.
Only Jo Nesbo has more titles translated to English than Leena Lehtolainen. Already 11 Maria Kallio books are available in English, all published by Amazon Crossing.

Ripple Effect, Maria Kallio #15

Maria is getting ready for her daughter’s graduation when her cat brings her a human ear. She takes it to the forensic lab and doesn’t think any more of it.

Maria and her team are assigned to investigate a rape of a young woman when things start to heat up. The accused rapist is a young man with an immigrant background, which causes a lot of racism and heated discussions in the papers and media. Angry fathers are organizing a street patrol to keep their daughters safe, and when Rahim is released from the police station, his safety is not guaranteed.

Maria and her team are working to solve a new case, but online trolls are targeting them and doing everything to distract them. But when Maria is almost killed by an earless driver, it makes her wonder if all the harassment is related to the case, or could it be something more personal?

Author bio:
LEENA LEHTOLAINEN published her first book, a young adult novel, at the age of 12 in 1976. The 1993 book My First Murder kicked off Lehtolainen’s first and on-going crime novel series: The bestselling Maria Kallio Series, which has brought an enthusiastically received female perspective to the male-dominated detective genre through its distinctively down-to-earth heroine Maria Kallio. Lehtolainen has been Finland’s bestselling female crime writer for over 30 years with over 2 million copies of her work sold worldwide!  11 Maria Kallio novels have been published in the US so far, and her works has been published in 30 language altogether.

Rights sold:
FINLAND: Tammi (orig.)
GERMANY: Rowohlt
TV rights: Maria Kallio tv series in development

Reading materials:
RIPPLE EFFECT, Maria Kallio Book #15: English sample, synopsis, Finnish pdf

Reading materials:
Maria Kallio Books 1-11: English editions
Maria Kallio Books 1-14: German editions.

About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 30 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music and follows lynx trails in the forests – just like Maria Kallio.


2023, Crime & Suspense

A Crossing in the Darkness

Leena Lehtolainen

2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Crossing of the Green Dragon

Leena Lehtolainen

2021, Crime & Suspense

The Lynx Factor

Leena Lehtolainen

2020, Crime & Suspense

The Ripple Effect

Leena Lehtolainen

2019, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2018, Crime & Suspense

The Killer's Girlfriend

Leena Lehtolainen

2017, Crime & Suspense

The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

The Charm of Ice

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, Crime & Suspense

The Eye of the Tiger

Leena Lehtolainen

2015, Crime & Suspense

A Stroke of Sadness

Leena Lehtolainen

2013, Crime & Suspense

The Iron Triangle

Leena Lehtolainen

2012, Crime & Suspense

The Devil's Cubs

Leena Lehtolainen

2011, Crime & Suspense

The Lion of Justice

Leena Lehtolainen

2010, Crime & Suspense

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

Leena Lehtolainen

2009, Crime & Suspense

The Bodyguard

Leena Lehtolainen

2008, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2005, Crime & Suspense

The Nightingale Murder

Leena Lehtolainen

2003, Crime & Suspense

Below the Surface

Leena Lehtolainen

2000, Crime & Suspense

Before I Go

Leena Lehtolainen

1998, Crime & Suspense

Fatal Headwind

Leena Lehtolainen

1997, Crime & Suspense

Death Spiral

Leena Lehtolainen

1996, Crime & Suspense

Snow Woman

Leena Lehtolainen

1995, Crime & Suspense

Copper Heart

Leena Lehtolainen

1994, Crime & Suspense

Her Enemy

Leena Lehtolainen

1993, Crime & Suspense

My First Murder

Leena Lehtolainen