Leena Lehtolainen’s RIPPLE EFFECT is now published

We have excellent news for crime fiction enthusiasts around the world!

Leena Lehtolainen’s RIPPLE EFFECT, Maria Kallio novel #15 (Jälkikaiku, Tammi) has now been published in Finland and is already hitting the bestseller lists – with Maria Kallio TV series in development!

The title is already #1 most requested title in Finnish libraries and just received an amazing five-star review from Finland’s biggest daily Helsingin Sanomat.

“RIPPLE EFFECT is a familiar and persuasive crime novel in which the author appropriately describes the private lives of her main characters and examines the refugee issue and the difficulties of transgender people in the world on an equal footing;

“At the end of the novel, humanity and its diversity are defended in a beautiful way.”

– Helsingin Sanomat five-star review 09.08.2020

Ask for English materials of RIPPLE EFFECT by clicking here.


Detective Maria Kallio is getting ready for her daughter’s graduation when her cat brings her a human ear. She takes it to the forensic lab and doesn’t think any more of it. Maria and her team are assigned to investigate a rape of a young woman when things start to heat up.

The accused rapist is a young man with an immigrant background, which causes a lot of racism and heated discussions in the papers and media. Angry fathers are organizing a street patrol to keep their daughters safe, and when Rahim is released from the police station, his safety is not guaranteed.

Maria and her team are working to solve a new case, but online trolls are targeting them and doing everything to distract them. But when Maria is almost killed by an earless driver, it makes her wonder if all the harassment is related to the case, or could it be something more personal?


Finland’s bestselling female crime writer for over 30 years, Leena Lehtolainen has published 14 Maria Kallio novels, and the 15th book RIPPLE EFFECT has now been published in August 2020.

Maria Kallio series has sold over 2 million copies worldwide, and there is a TV Series in development.

Ask for English materials of Maria Kallio series by clicking here.

The bestselling Maria Kallio Series, which has brought an enthusiastically received female perspective to the male-dominated detective genre through its distinctively down-to-earth heroine Maria Kallio.

In the US, 11 Maria Kallio novels have been published so far by AmazonCrossing, and in Germany  Rowohlt has published all 14 Maria Kallio novels.

The rights for the Maria Kallio series are now available in AzerbaijanBrazil,  Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Denmark, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Korea, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Vietnam, World Spanish, and more!

Rights sold for

FINLAND: Tammi (orig.)
GERMANY: Rowohlt
TV rights: Maria Kallio TV series in development


Ask for Maria Kallio series rights in your territory!

Rights available in: Brazil,  Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Denmark, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Korea, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Vietnam, World Spanish, and more!

Ask about series rights and English materials of Maria Kallio series by clicking here.

About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 30 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music and follows lynx trails in the forests – just like Maria Kallio.


2023, Crime & Suspense

A Crossing in the Darkness

Leena Lehtolainen

2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Crossing of the Green Dragon

Leena Lehtolainen

2021, Crime & Suspense

The Lynx Factor

Leena Lehtolainen

2020, Crime & Suspense

The Ripple Effect

Leena Lehtolainen

2019, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2018, Crime & Suspense

The Killer's Girlfriend

Leena Lehtolainen

2017, Crime & Suspense

The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

The Charm of Ice

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, Crime & Suspense

The Eye of the Tiger

Leena Lehtolainen

2015, Crime & Suspense

A Stroke of Sadness

Leena Lehtolainen

2013, Crime & Suspense

The Iron Triangle

Leena Lehtolainen

2012, Crime & Suspense

The Devil's Cubs

Leena Lehtolainen

2011, Crime & Suspense

The Lion of Justice

Leena Lehtolainen

2010, Crime & Suspense

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

Leena Lehtolainen

2009, Crime & Suspense

The Bodyguard

Leena Lehtolainen

2008, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2005, Crime & Suspense

The Nightingale Murder

Leena Lehtolainen

2003, Crime & Suspense

Below the Surface

Leena Lehtolainen

2000, Crime & Suspense

Before I Go

Leena Lehtolainen

1998, Crime & Suspense

Fatal Headwind

Leena Lehtolainen

1997, Crime & Suspense

Death Spiral

Leena Lehtolainen

1996, Crime & Suspense

Snow Woman

Leena Lehtolainen

1995, Crime & Suspense

Copper Heart

Leena Lehtolainen

1994, Crime & Suspense

Her Enemy

Leena Lehtolainen

1993, Crime & Suspense

My First Murder

Leena Lehtolainen