Minna Lindgren’s Twilight Grove Trilogy is an international hit!

Lindgren_newsletter_July2015Minna Lindgren’s bestselling and acclaimed Twilight Grove Trilogy (Teos), following three spirited and inquisitive 90-something ladies around a Helsinki retirement home, is quickly gaining international fans. Since its publication in Spain by Suma de Letras /Penguin Random House this spring, Book I, Death in Twilight Grove (Teos 2013), is already in its second printing!

“These are believable characters. It feels like you’re having a conversation with your elderly neighbor or your own grandmother.”
Lios & Libros literature blog, Spain

Death in Twilight Grove has also been published in Estonia by Varrak, in France by Calmann-Lévy and in Italy by Marsilio. Albatros Media/XYZ in the Czech Republic will publish Death in Twilight Grove this fall. Next year the trilogy will launch in Germany by Kiepenheuer & Witsch and in the UK by Pan Macmillan: the UK editions will be entitled Death in Sunset Grove, Escape from Sunset Grove and The End of Sunset Grove.

Death in Twilight Grove has received praise from Italian readers as well:

“Through Siiri’s adventures Lindgren does an excellent job at describing [the setting of Helsinki]. This promises to be a very intriguing, funny and thoughtful trilogy, and I can’t wait to find out what happens to Siiri in the second book.”
Life is a Book literature blog, Italy (nine out of ten stars)

Book III, The End of Twilight Grove, was published in Finland at the end of April. It was the #2 bestselling Finnish novel in May, and continues to earn critical love.

New praise for The End of Twilight Grove:

“Made wiser by her experiences, [main character] Siiri Kettunen realizes that the older a person gets, the more difficult it becomes for one to live without other people – humans can’t be replaced by robots or virtual treatments. And it is never too late to learn the fundamentals of life: that the most important thing is another person’s touch.”
– The blog of Oma aika magazine, Finland

“Lindgren’s humor is based on sharp situational awareness and character repartee…Lindgren displays downright dazzling skill in crystallizing her elderly characters’ wealth of experiences and ways of using language. The habits and expressions of today feel ridiculous in comparison.”
Tuijata literature blog, Finland

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Jensen & Dalgaard (Part I)
ESTONIA, Varrak (Part I)
GERMANY, Kiepenheuer & Witsch
FRANCE, Calmann-Lévy
ITALY, Marsilio
SPAIN, Suma de Letras /Penguin Random House
WORLD ENGLISH, Pan Macmillan

Reading materials:
Full English text of book 1
English synopses of books 1-3
Finnish editions of books 1-3

For rights inquiries contact: info@ahlbackagency.com

About author

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009, Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove trilogy, which has been sold to 18 territories, and the final part, The End of Sunset Grove, was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written four standalone novels and a non-fiction book about the history of opera.

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


2020, Literary Fiction, Humor

Hope Never Dies

Minna Lindgren

2019, Literary Fiction, Humor

A Far, Far Love

Minna Lindgren

2018, Literary Fiction, Humor

Angry Widow

Minna Lindgren

2015, Literary Fiction, Humor

The End of Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2014, Literary Fiction, Humor

Escape from Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2013, Literary Fiction, Humor

Death in Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren