The End of Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

Original title: Ehtoolehdon tuho

Author: Minna Lindgren

Published: 2015

Publisher: Teos

Genres: Literary Fiction, Humor

Pages: 289

Part of a series: Sunset Grove trilogy

Reading material:

English edition

The final part of the trilogy marks a return to the retirement community. But the place no longer feels like home, and has turned into a state-funded, technology-driven pilot project in elderly care. The conclusion brings together characters lost along the way, and murky details are brought to light. Legal justice is also served – in unexpected ways. A natural, long-awaited death finally collects some, but still not all, of our main characters.

Lindgren doesn’t merely play with humor. In the End of Sunset Grove, he addresses a topical issue, the treatment of the elderly. I think it’s great that the topic is written about and written so well that it draws readers in abundance. The issues in the End of Sunset Grove the will remain in the thoughts of the readers long after they have finished the book.

-Kristan Kirjat Blog, Finland

Download reading materials

Rights sold:
FINLAND: Teos (orig.)

DENMARK: Jensen & Dalgaard
GREECE: Enalios
HUNGARY: Kossuth Kiadó
ITALY: Marsilio
LATVIA: Petergailis
SLOVAKIA: Albatros Media Slovakia s.r.o.
SPAIN: Santillana
WORLD ENGLISH: Pan Macmillan


About author

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009, Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove trilogy, which has been sold to 18 territories, and the final part, The End of Sunset Grove, was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written four standalone novels and a non-fiction book about the history of opera.

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


2020, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

Hope Never Dies

2019, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

A Far, Far Love

2018, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

Angry Widow

2015, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

The End of Sunset Grove

2014, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

Escape from Sunset Grove

2013, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

Death in Sunset Grove