Greek rights pre-empted for Minna Lindgren’s SUNSET GROVE TRILOGY! 15 rights sold!

We are extremely happy to announce a new deal for Minna Lindgren’s  SUNSET GROVE cozy crime trilogy!
Enalios in Greece has now pre-empted all 3 titles in the series!

Just in a few weeks, the Hungarian publisher Kossuth, Lithuanian publisher Obuolys, Latvian publisher Petergailis and Yedioth Books from Israel acquired titles in the series. The FILM & TV RIGHTS have been sold to Aurora Studios.

The translation rights have now been sold in 15 territories, but are still available in  Russia, Norway, Poland, Romania, Turkey, Netherlands, Albania, Korea, Bulgaria, etc.

Download the full English pdfs for THE SUNSET GROVE TRILOGY by clicking here


Death in Sunset Grove is Finnish Miss Marple
Independent, United Kingdom

Lindgren perfectly captures the universal confusions (Siiri and Irma attend the funeral of the wrong person) and uncertainties of old age (how many of their friends will still be alive in a week to attend a reunion luncheon?) in the service of a captivating plot. Readers will eagerly await the sequel.
Publishers Weekly, United States

Death in Sunset Grove is a feel-good novel that makes you think. Lindgren writes about serious matters, like the care of the elderly, using satirical humour to great effect and in Death in Sunset Grove she manages to produce a very funny detective story starring two elderly ladies with the combined age of about 180 and Miss Marple-esque tendency to solve crimes.
– Dublin Literary Award longlist, Ireland


#1 Death in Sunset Grove
Kuolema ehtoolehdossa, Teos 2013, 305pp

Imagine the Sunset Grove retirement home – filled mostly with bored residents, with empty time filled with never-ending arts and crafts sessions, gym classes, accordion evenings and glasses of red wine.
When two 90-year-old inhabitants – Irma and Siiri – decide to take upon them an investigation of a suspicious death of the retirement home cook, all that is about to change!
#2 Escape from Sunset Grove
Ehtoolehdon pakolaiset, Teos 2014, 256pp

Sunset Grove retirement home turns into a kind of hell when it is taken over by foreign construction workers cursing fluently in Finnish. The noise is deafening, a hole appears in the wall, things disappear and residents have to use a portable toilet.

Residents Siiri, Irma and Anna-Liisa, all older than 90, decide to move into a shared apartment in the exotic neighborhood of Hakaniemi. All three have their own habits and quirks, and life together isn’t entirely free of friction. The women also learn about the sad differences in quality with at-home assistance, and are forced to become familiar with terminal care and questions surrounding euthanasia.
#3 The End of Sunset Grove
Ehtoolehdon tuho, Teos 2015, 289pp

The final part of the trilogy marks a return to the retirement community. But the place no longer feels like home and has turned into a state-funded, technology-driven pilot project in elderly care. The conclusion brings together characters lost along the way, and murky details are brought to light. Legal justice is also served – in unexpected ways. A natural, long-awaited death finally collects some, but still not all, of our main characters.


PS! Don’t forget about FILI grants!

Do you have a perfect Finnish literature project in mind but would need some support for the translation costs?

We are happy to let you know that FILI translation grant application period is still ongoing all week and will end on 1st of November! The grant can cover up to 70% of your Finnish/Finland-Swedish translation project.

Last period, over 100 projects were awarded a grant! Read more from:…/finnish-literature-into-other-languages/

Kuolema ehtoolehdossa
Teos 2013, 305pp

Ehtoolehdon pakolaiset
Teos 2014, 256pp

Ehtoolehdon tuho
Teos 2015, 289pp

Rights sold for the series:

FINLAND: Teos (orig.)

DENMARK: Jensen & Dalgaard
FRANCE: Calmann-Lévy
GERMANY: Kiepenheuer & Witsch
GREECE: Enalios
HUNGARY: Kossuth
ISRAEL: Yedioth Books
ITALY: Marsilio
LATVIA: Pētergailis
SLOVAKIA: Albatros Media Slovakia s.r.o.
SPAIN: Santillana
SWEDEN: Norstedts
WORLD ENGLISH: Pan Macmillan

FILM & TV RIGHTS: Aurora Studios

About author

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009, Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove trilogy, which has been sold to 18 territories, and the final part, The End of Sunset Grove, was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written four standalone novels and a non-fiction book about the history of opera.

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


2020, Literary Fiction, Humor

Hope Never Dies

Minna Lindgren

2019, Literary Fiction, Humor

A Far, Far Love

Minna Lindgren

2018, Literary Fiction, Humor

Angry Widow

Minna Lindgren

2015, Literary Fiction, Humor

The End of Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2014, Literary Fiction, Humor

Escape from Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2013, Literary Fiction, Humor

Death in Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren