Pre-London Book Fair deals for The Angry Widow

We are thrilled to report that Czech and Slovak rights of Minna Lindgren’s newly published, hilarious novel The Angry Widow (Teos Publishers, March 2018) have been sold to XYZ at Albatros Media.

Pitched as ”A Man Called Ove meets Sex and the City”, The Angry Widow was published in Finland on March 19th and received a praising review in the biggest daily newspaper Helsingin Sanomat:

”The Angry Widow is full of rowdy humor and hilarious action […] Lindgren exaggerates, she over-exaggerates, so you just have to laugh at this reality she has created. What a farce, this life.”

The book has topped also lists such as the most sold book of the week in Helsinki’s traditional Akateeminen book shop.

The Angry Widow is an amusing and entertaining story about how friendships and love affairs change when you grow old. With warmth and sarcasm Lindgren examines the questions of what it means to be seventy in a world where everyone over 65 ticks the same age box in a survey.

For the past 12 years, 74-year-old Ulla has cared for her paralyzed husband, a mean and slightly alcoholic man. At his funeral, all she can think is: Finally! She reconnects with old friends and starts living every day as if it were her last. Her adult children try to stop her newfound debauchery in many ways – but the biggest change comes along in the guise of an older gentleman.

Minna Lindgren is the author of the internationally bestselling Sunset Grove Trilogy, which is sold in 10 territories.

Rights sold:
Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
CZECH REPUBLIC, Albatros Media
SLOVAKIA, Albatros Media

Reading material:
English sample and synopsis
Finnish edition

About author

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009, Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove trilogy, which has been sold to 18 territories, and the final part, The End of Sunset Grove, was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written four standalone novels and a non-fiction book about the history of opera.

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


2020, Literary Fiction, Humor

Hope Never Dies

Minna Lindgren

2019, Literary Fiction, Humor

A Far, Far Love

Minna Lindgren

2018, Literary Fiction, Humor

Angry Widow

Minna Lindgren

2015, Literary Fiction, Humor

The End of Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2014, Literary Fiction, Humor

Escape from Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2013, Literary Fiction, Humor

Death in Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren