Death in Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

Original title: Kuolema Ehtoolehdossa

Author: Minna Lindgren

Published: 2013

Publisher: Teos

Genres: Literary Fiction, Humor

Pages: 305

Part of a series: Sunset Grove trilogy

Reading material:

English edition

Who could imagine that anything illegal – whether it be suspicious deaths, thefts or the covert trading of medications – could happen in Sunset Grove retirement home? Its 90-year-old residents Siiri and Irma certainly can’t.

The lives of Siiri, Irma, and other Sunset Grove inhabitants are filled mostly with empty time punctuated by glasses of red wine, tram rides and funerals. Investigating the sudden strange occurrences at Sunset Grove, however, proves to be a more interesting pastime than playing cards with the ambassador and the woman in the wide-brimmed hat – not to mention the never-ending arts and crafts sessions, gym classes or accordion evenings (which the residents of the house attend mostly out of pity towards the employees).

Death in Sunset Grove is a devilishly funny and suspenseful story about old age, friendship and life in a relatively ordinary retirement home. Here the only fate worse than death is being drugged up and locked away inside the dementia ward. Even the sharpest senior can’t decipher all the nuances of this place; thankfully a few young people, including members of the biker gang and a grandchild’s boyfriend, offer some help.

Death in Twilight Grove is a clever mystery novel that brilliantly combines thriller with comedy. There’s suspense in it, and there’s warmth. By reading you will hear echoes of The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared, and much more than this. Minna Lindgren not only shows intelligent and hearty humour, but she demonstrates depth that is not easy to find in the genre. Siiri, Irma and Anna- Liisa will stay with you for a long time, three wonderful old ladies, wise and naive at the same time, who know so much about life but still cannot recognize cruelty in its worse aspects.

- Francesca Varotto, Marsilio, Italy

Download reading materials

Rights sold:
FINLAND: Teos (orig.)
FILM & TV RIGHTS: Aurora Studios
ARABIC: Al Arabi
DENMARK: Jensen & Dalgaard
ESTONIA: Varrak Publishers
GERMANY: Kiepenheuer & Witsch
GREECE: Enalios
HUNGARY: Kossuth
ISRAEL: Yedioth Books
ITALY: Marsilio
LATVIA: Petergailis
SLOVAKIA: Albatros Media Slovakia s.r.o.
SPAIN: Santillana
SWEDEN: Norstedts
WORLD ENGLISH: Pan Macmillan


About author

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009, Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove trilogy, which has been sold to 18 territories, and the final part, The End of Sunset Grove, was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written four standalone novels and a non-fiction book about the history of opera.

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


2020, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

Hope Never Dies

2019, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

A Far, Far Love

2018, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

Angry Widow

2015, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

The End of Sunset Grove

2014, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

Escape from Sunset Grove

2013, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

Death in Sunset Grove