Latvian rights sold for SUNSET GROVE TRILOGY – now 13 languages for the cozy crime trilogy!

We are extremely happy to announce a new deal for Minna Lindgren’s  SUNSET GROVE cozy crime trilogy!
Just in a week, the Hungarian publisher Kossuth and Lithuanian publisher Obuolys acquired the first title of the seriesDEATH IN SUNSET GROVE, now Latvian rights for all 3 titles in the series have been sold to Pētergailis!

The FILM & TV RIGHTS have been sold to Aurora Studios.

The translation rights have now been sold in 13 territories, but are still available in Russia, Norway, Poland, Romania, Turkey, Netherlands, Albania, Korea, Italy, Bulgaria, etc.

Download the full English pdfs for THE SUNSET GROVE TRILOGY by clicking here


#1 Death in Sunset Grove
Kuolema ehtoolehdossa, Teos 2013, 305pp

Imagine the Sunset Grove retirement home – filled mostly with bored residents, with empty time filled with never-ending arts and crafts sessions, gym classes, accordion evenings and glasses of red wine.
When two 90-year-old inhabitants – Irma and Siiri – decide to take upon them an investigation of a suspicious death of the retirement home cook, all that is about to change!
#2 Escape from Sunset Grove
Ehtoolehdon pakolaiset, Teos 2014, 256pp

Sunset Grove retirement home turns into a kind of hell when it is taken over by foreign construction workers cursing fluently in Finnish. The noise is deafening, a hole appears in the wall, things disappear and residents have to use a portable toilet.

Residents Siiri, Irma and Anna-Liisa, all older than 90, decide to move into a shared apartment in the exotic neighborhood of Hakaniemi. All three have their own habits and quirks, and life together isn’t entirely free of friction. The women also learn about the sad differences in quality with at-home assistance, and are forced to become familiar with terminal care and questions surrounding euthanasia.
#3 The End of Sunset Grove
Ehtoolehdon tuho, Teos 2015, 289pp

The final part of the trilogy marks a return to the retirement community. But the place no longer feels like home and has turned into a state-funded, technology-driven pilot project in elderly care. The conclusion brings together characters lost along the way, and murky details are brought to light. Legal justice is also served – in unexpected ways. A natural, long-awaited death finally collects some, but still not all, of our main characters.


PS! Don’t forget about FILI grants!

Do you have a perfect Finnish literature project in mind but would need some support for the translation costs?

We are happy to let you know that FILI translation grant application period started on October 1st and ends on November 1st! The grant can cover up to 70% of your Finnish/Finland-Swedish translation project.

Last period, over 100 projects were awarded a grant! Read more from:…/finnish-literature-into-other-languages/

Kuolema ehtoolehdossa
Teos 2013, 305pp

Ehtoolehdon pakolaiset
Teos 2014, 256pp

Ehtoolehdon tuho
Teos 2015, 289pp

Rights sold for the series:

FINLAND: Teos (orig.)

DENMARK: Jensen & Dalgaard
FRANCE: Calmann-Lévy
GERMANY: Kiepenheuer & Witsch
HUNGARY: Kossuth
ITALY: Marsilio
LATVIA: Pētergailis
SLOVAKIA: Albatros Media Slovakia s.r.o.
SPAIN: Santillana
SWEDEN: Norstedts
WORLD ENGLISH: Pan Macmillan

FILM & TV RIGHTS: Aurora Studios

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009 Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove Trilogy, which has been sold to 11 territories, and the final part The End of Sunset Grow was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written three standalones: Angry Widow (2018), A Far Far Love (2019) and Hope Never Dies (2020).

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


Minna Lindgren

Hope Never Dies

2020, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

A Far, Far Love

2019, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

Angry Widow

2018, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

The End of Sunset Grove

2015, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

Escape from Sunset Grove

2014, Literary Fiction, Humor

Minna Lindgren

Death in Sunset Grove

2013, Literary Fiction, Humor

Related news