Book III in Minna Lindgren’s Twilight Grove Trilogy is a commercial and critical hit!

LindgrenNewsletterJune2015Minna Lindgren has another bestseller in her hands with The End of Twilight Grove (Teos 2015), the final part in her emotionally sharp, socially critical and satirical trilogy centering on a group of spirited 90-something ladies at a Helsinki retirement home.

The End of Twilight Grove, published in late April, was the #2 bestselling Finnish novel in May. The book has also received very positive reviews from critics.

“I write about cheerful and content elderly people. I want people to see old age as something that can be a happy time,” Lindgren said in a recent interview with Ilta-Sanomat newspaper.

This spring Book I, Death in Twilight Grove, was published in Estonia by Varrak, in France by Calmann-Lévy, in Italy by Marsilio and in Spain by Suma de Letras /Penguin Random House. In 2016 the trilogy will launch in Germany by Kiepenheuer & Witsch and in the UK by Pan Macmillan, which will publish the books as Death in Sunset Grove, Escape from Sunset Grove and The End of Sunset Grove.

Praise for The End of Twilight Grove:

“Once again Minna Lindgren taps into many sore spots that exist in Finland’s elderly care systems…the prose is multilayered and skilful. These old ladies speak flawless Finnish, and the author also sprinkles baffling teen speak and horrifying ‘consulting language’ into her text.”
Keskisuomalainen newspaper, Finland

“Lindgren defends the human rights of her characters with gusto. No wonder, then, that the trilogy will shortly appear in several languages, including English, German and French.”
Books from Finland literary journal

The End of Twilight Grove warns us of a society in which human touch has been replaced by smart devices and nobody has a bookshelf at home.”
Kirjavuori (“Book Mountain”) literature blog, Finland

“Minna Lindgren again makes a statement about elderly care, dignified life, death, and the use of state funds.”
Kulttuuri kukoistaa (“Culture Blooms”) blog, Finland

About the Twilight Grove trilogy:

In Death in Twilight Grove (Teos 2013), Siiri, Irma and Anna-Liisa discover that their home, a Helsinki retirement community called Twilight Grove, is an optimal environment for both smaller swindles and larger criminal activities.

The second entry, Escape from Twilight Grove (Teos 2014), sees our heroines moving to an apartment in the Hakaniemi neighborhood as roommates. A fishy plumbing renovation at Twilight Grove evokes suspicions of more crimes taking place, but the real crimes may actually be happening elsewhere.

The final part in the trilogy, The End of Twilight Grove (Teos 2015), marks a return to the retirement community. But the place no longer feels like home, and has turned into a state-funded, technology-driven pilot project in elderly care. The conclusion brings together characters lost along the way, and murky details are brought to light. Legal justice is also served – in unexpected ways.

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Jensen & Dalgaard (Part I)
ESTONIA, Varrak (Part I)
GERMANY, Kiepenheuer & Witsch
FRANCE, Calmann-Lévy
ITALY, Marsilio
SPAIN, Suma de Letras /Penguin Random House
WORLD ENGLISH, Pan Macmillan

Reading materials:
Full English text of book 1
English synopses of books 1-3
Finnish editions of books 1-3

For rights inquiries contact:

About author

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009, Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove trilogy, which has been sold to 18 territories, and the final part, The End of Sunset Grove, was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written four standalone novels and a non-fiction book about the history of opera.

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


2020, Literary Fiction, Humor

Hope Never Dies

Minna Lindgren

2019, Literary Fiction, Humor

A Far, Far Love

Minna Lindgren

2018, Literary Fiction, Humor

Angry Widow

Minna Lindgren

2015, Literary Fiction, Humor

The End of Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2014, Literary Fiction, Humor

Escape from Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2013, Literary Fiction, Humor

Death in Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren