Minna Lindgren’s Twilight Grove Trilogy sold in the Czech Republic!

Lindgren_newsletterSept82014We are happy to announce that Albatros Media/XYZ has acquired Czech rights to Minna Lindgren‘s Twilight Grove Trilogy, a satirical mystery series about a group of spirited 90-something ladies living in a Helsinki retirement home; the trilogy is like a Nordic take on Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple. Albatros Media also recently acquired rights to J.K Johansson’s Palokaski crime trilogy.

The Twilight Grove Trilogy comprises Death in Twilight Grove (Teos 2013), Escape from Twilight Grove (Teos 2014) and The End of Twilight Grove (working title, Teos 2015). The two published entries in the series have both been bestsellers and critical successes in Finland.

“The characters have started to play a surprisingly significant role in my life. I’ve found myself saying things like ‘that’s what happened to Siiri too’ or ‘That’s what Irma said.’ The richness of Escape from Twilight Grove is found in Lindgren’s lively and versatile language and the observations made by these 90-somethings about modern life.”
Omana ilona literature blog, Finland

“Lindgren is a virtuoso with language. She pokes fun at today’s speech that is often clichéd and void of substance.”
Helsingin Sanomat newspaper, Finland

ESTONIA, Varrak (Part I)
GERMANY, Kiepenheuer & Witsch
FRANCE, Calmann-Lévy
ITALY, Marsilio
SPAIN, Santillana
Film rights: Yellow Film & TV

Reading materials:
English sample of book 1 (the first 76 pages of the novel)
English synopses of books 1-3
Finnish editions of books 1-2

Original publisher:
Finland, Teos

For rights inquiries contact: info@ahlbackagency.com

About author

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009, Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove trilogy, which has been sold to 18 territories, and the final part, The End of Sunset Grove, was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written four standalone novels and a non-fiction book about the history of opera.

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


2020, Literary Fiction, Humor

Hope Never Dies

Minna Lindgren

2019, Literary Fiction, Humor

A Far, Far Love

Minna Lindgren

2018, Literary Fiction, Humor

Angry Widow

Minna Lindgren

2015, Literary Fiction, Humor

The End of Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2014, Literary Fiction, Humor

Escape from Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2013, Literary Fiction, Humor

Death in Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren