Longer sample of Minna Lindgren’s Death in Twilight Grove now available

LindgrenJuly292014We are happy to announce that a new, more extensive English sample of Minna Lindgren‘s commercial and critical success, Death in Twilight Grove (Kuolema Ehtoolehdossa, Teos 2013), is now available. Translated into English by Lola Rogers, the sample comprises the first 76 pages of the novel.

Death in Twilight Grove is the first entry in the Twilight Grove Trilogy, a satirical mystery series that narrates life inside and around a Helsinki retirement home through the eyes of three bright, spirited and inquisitive ladies in their 90s. The trilogy also includes Escape from Twilight Grove (Ehtoolehdon pakolaiset, Teos May 2014) and The End of Twilight Grove (working title, Teos 2015).

Death in Twilight Grove is an entertaining mystery with a cast of eccentric characters that immediately felt like old friends. It ‘s an unusual mix of zany slapstick, pointed social criticism, and heart-touching pathos like nothing I’ve read before. A witty, delightful book.”
-Translator Lola Rogers

Escape from Twilight Grove (Ehtoolehdon pakolaiset, May 2014), part II in the trilogy, debuted in Finland this spring and jumped straight to national bestseller lists. The book has also been universally praised by bloggers and critics.

“Lindgren is a virtuoso with language. She pokes fun at today’s speech that is often clichéd and void of substance…one of most impressive displays of skill is articulating seemingly trendy, accepted truths that one can’t argue against, but whose accuracy the reader is nevertheless forced to question in light of the book’s events.”
Helsingin Sanomat newspaper, Finland

ESTONIA, Varrak (Part I)
GERMANY, Kiepenheuer & Witsch
FRANCE, Calmann-Lévy
ITALY, Marsilio
SPAIN, Santillana
Film rights: Yellow Film & TV

Reading materials:
English sample of book 1 (the first 76 pages of the novel)
English synopses of books 1-3
Finnish editions of books 1-2

Original publisher:
Finland, Teos

For rights inquiries contact: info@ahlbackagency.com

About author

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009, Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove trilogy, which has been sold to 18 territories, and the final part, The End of Sunset Grove, was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written four standalone novels and a non-fiction book about the history of opera.

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


2020, Literary Fiction, Humor

Hope Never Dies

Minna Lindgren

2019, Literary Fiction, Humor

A Far, Far Love

Minna Lindgren

2018, Literary Fiction, Humor

Angry Widow

Minna Lindgren

2015, Literary Fiction, Humor

The End of Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2014, Literary Fiction, Humor

Escape from Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2013, Literary Fiction, Humor

Death in Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren