Danish rights to Minna Lindgren’s Death in Twilight Grove sold to Jensen & Dalgaard!

LindgrenNewsletterDenmarkWe are very happy to announce that Jensen & Dalgaard, publisher of acclaimed and award-winning authors such as Katri Lipson, Diego Marani and Robert Louis Stevenson, has acquired Danish rights to Minna Lindgren’s Death in Twilight Grove (Teos 2013), Part I in the Twilight Grove Trilogy.

Also comprising Escape from Twilight Grove (Teos 2014) and The End of Twilight Grove (Teos 2015), Lindgren’s sharp, humorous and socially conscious trilogy set in and around a Helsinki retirement home follows the adventures of three bright, spirited and inquisitive 90-something ladies.

“Jensen & Dalgaard is very much looking forward to introducing this fabulous, highly acclaimed, humorous and exciting literary trilogy in Denmark.”
– Bjarne Michael Jensen, publisher, Jensen & Dalgaard

The conclusion to the trilogy, The End of Twilight Grove, was published in Finland in late April and immediately jumped to local bestseller lists. Book II, Escape from Twilight Grove, was nominated for the prestigious Runeberg Prize last year.

This spring Death in Twilight Grove has been published in Estonia by Varrak, in France by Calmann-Lévy, in Italy by Marsilio and in Spain by Suma de Letras /Penguin Random House.

“According to Carl-Gustav Jung, the Swiss inventor of analytical psychology, a “magical act” allows one to see life from another angle and thus find a new perspective. It’s a modern, confident outlook on life. One could imagine that the great Finnish writer Minna Lindgren is an active reader of Jung! In her novel the nonagenarian characters have understood that the essential act of magic is humor! What a joy to read their adventures! What liberation!”
Femme Actuelle magazine, France

About the Twilight Grove trilogy:

In Death in Twilight Grove (Teos 2013), Siiri, Irma and Anna-Liisa discover that their home, a Helsinki retirement community called Twilight Grove, is an optimal environment for both smaller swindles and larger criminal activities.

The second entry, Escape from Twilight Grove (Teos 2014), sees our heroines moving to an apartment in the Hakaniemi neighbourhood as roommates. A fishy plumbing renovation at Twilight Grove evokes suspicions of more crimes taking place, but the real crimes may actually be happening elsewhere.

The final part in the trilogy, The End of Twilight Grove (Teos, 2015), marks a return to the retirement community. But the place no longer feels like home, and has turned into a state-funded, technology-driven pilot project in elderly care. The conclusion brings together characters lost along the way, and murky details are brought to light. Legal justice is also served – in unexpected ways.

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Jensen & Dalgaard (Part I)
ESTONIA, Varrak (Part I)
GERMANY, Kiepenheuer & Witsch
FRANCE, Calmann-Lévy
ITALY, Marsilio
SPAIN, Suma de Letras /Penguin Random House
WORLD ENGLISH, Pan Macmillan

Reading materials:
Full English text of book 1
English synopses of books 1-3
Finnish editions of books 1-3

For rights inquiries contact: info@ahlbackagency.com

About author

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009, Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove trilogy, which has been sold to 18 territories, and the final part, The End of Sunset Grove, was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written four standalone novels and a non-fiction book about the history of opera.

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


2020, Literary Fiction, Humor

Hope Never Dies

Minna Lindgren

2019, Literary Fiction, Humor

A Far, Far Love

Minna Lindgren

2018, Literary Fiction, Humor

Angry Widow

Minna Lindgren

2015, Literary Fiction, Humor

The End of Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2014, Literary Fiction, Humor

Escape from Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren

2013, Literary Fiction, Humor

Death in Sunset Grove

Minna Lindgren