Grove Atlantic acquires World English rights to Johanna Sinisalo’s The Core of the Sun

sinisalo_070114We are thrilled to announce that Grove Atlantic has acquired World English rights to Johanna Sinisalo’s The Core of the Sun (Auringon ydin, Teos 2013) for publication in 2015 in the Black Cat imprint. One of the most esteemed literary publishers in the U.S, Grove Atlantic’s other authors include Samuel Beckett, Henry Miller, Jack Kerouac and Jeanette Winterson.

“Johanna Sinisalo has a singular, singularly twisted imagination, and The Core of the Sun presents a chilling alternative scenario that has uncomfortable resonances for our own reality – all the while working in brilliantly fun satirical touches. I am so pleased to be working with her again.”
-Amy Hundley, Grove Atlantic

The Core of the Sun depicts the Finnish Eusistocratic Republic, a kind of North Korea of Europe. Here sex has been turned into a commodity, and women have been bred into two subspecies based on their ability to provide pleasure and bear children.

The book has been a critical success, and has been nominated for the prestigious Tähtivaeltaja (“Star Traveller”) award recognizing the previous year’s best science fiction book published in Finland.

“Sinisalo is a social critic, but her writing is very tangible, appealing to the senses. It makes for a unique reading experience: highly immersive, almost breath-taking,” praised Books from Finland literary journal in its review.

“The Core of the Sun is Johanna Sinisalo’s best novel since the Finlandia Prize-winning Not Before Sundown (Ennen päivänlaskua ei voi, Tammi 2000)….it deals with themes similar to those in Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale,” wrote Helsingin Sanomat newspaper.

Johanna Sinisalo (b. 1958), master of Finnish weird, is one of Finland’s most successful and internationally acclaimed authors. Praised by readers and critics alike, she has won several literary prizes, among them the Finlandia Prize in 2000 and the James Tiptree, Jr. Award in 2004. In 2008 she was nominated for the Nebula Awards. Rights to her works have been sold in 19 territories. Sinisalo is one of the screenwriters of the 2012 science fiction action comedy film Iron Sky.

The Core of the Sun, 2013:
FRANCE, Actes Sud
GERMANY, Klett-Cotta
WORLD ENGLISH, Grove Atlantic
Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos

Reading materials:
German edition
English sample
Finnish edition

Not Before Sundown (Troll a Love Story), 2000:
ALBANIA, Dituria
CZECH, One Woman Press
FRANCE, Actes Sud
JAPAN, Sunmark
POLAND, Terytoria
RUSSIA, Amphora
SLOVENIA, Modrijan
SPAIN, Poliedro
SWEDEN, Wahlstrom & Widstrand
UK, Peter Owen
US, Grove Atlantic
Original publisher: FINLAND, Tammi

The Blood of Angels, 2011:
FRANCE, Actes Sud
POLAND, Foksal
Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos

Birdbrain, 2008:

FRANCE, Actes Sud
UK, Peter Owen
Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos

Finlandia Prize 2000 (Not Before Sundown/Troll – A Love Story)
James Tiptree, Jr. Award 2004 (Not Before Sundown/Troll – A Love Story)
Nominated for the Nebula Awards 2008 (Baby Doll)
P. E. Svinhufvud Award 2011 (The Blood of Angels)
The Young Aleksis Kivi Prize 2009, 2012 (Birdbrain, The Blood of Angels)
Nominated for the Prix Escapades 2012 (Birdbrain)
Nominated for the Tähtivaeltaja (“Star Traveller”) award 2014


About author

Johanna Sinisalo

Johanna Sinisalo (b. 1958) is a Finlandia-Prize winning superstar of Finnish speculative fiction. In addition to her nine novels, she has also written short fiction and film and television screenplays. Her works have been translated into twenty languages.

Sinisalo has won several literary prizes also abroad, such as the 2004 James Tiptree, Jr. Award and the 2017 Prometheus Award, and was nominated for the Nebula Award in 2008, the Prix Escapades in 2012, and the Grand Prix de L’Imaginaire in 2017.

In 2022, Johanna Sinisalo was awarded the Pro Finlandia Medal for services to Finnish literature! Founded in 1943, the Pro Finlandia Medal of the Order of the Lion of Finland is a distinction awarded by the President of Finland to artists and writers in recognition of their long meritorious work and exceptional services to Finnish art, drama, literature and music.


2021, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Storm Flute

Johanna Sinisalo

2020, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Strangers Inside

Johanna Sinisalo

2018, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo

2013, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Core of The Sun

Johanna Sinisalo

2011, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Blood of Angels

Johanna Sinisalo

2010, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

The Möbius Twist

Johanna Sinisalo

2008, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo

2000, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo