Johanna Sinisalo’s The Core of the Sun wins Prometheus Award for Best Novel

The Libertarian Futurist Society has chosen The Core of the Sun, by Johanna Sinisalo, as the 2017 winner in the Best Novel category of the 37th annual Prometheus Awards. Previous winners include names such as Kurt Vonnegut, Cory Doctorow and Charles Stross.

The awards will be presented during WorldCon75, the 75th annual World Science Fiction Convention Aug. 9-13, 2017 in Helsinki, Finland, where Johanna Sinisalo is a Guest of Honor.

In the novel, the Eusistocratic Republic of Finland has prioritized social stability and national health, and outlawed practically everything that might give one pleasure or cause addiction: except the distribution of sex. To achieve this, the state has bred a new subspecies of women who are receptive, submissive and always willing.

“Written with wit and grace, […] the novel maintains an impressive grasp on plot and suspense, easily luring the reader into taking its characters, politics, and striking story to heart.” – Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

At the moment Sinisalo is finalizing the manuscript of Renate’s Story, a novel based her original story for the screenplay of the hit movie Iron Sky: sharp political satire that tackles the timely topics of indoctrination of the masses, the hunger for power – and, of course, the endless folly of mankind. The novel will be published in German and Finnish simultaneously with the premiere of the sequel, Iron Sky: The Coming Race, to be released at Berlin Film Festival in February 2018. Rights have also sold in France.

Click here to request reading materials for The Core of the Sun or Renate’s Story!

Publishers of The Core of the Sun:
CZECH, Euromedia
FRANCE, Actes Sud
GERMANY, Klett-Cotta
LATVIA, Petergailis
WORLD ENGLISH, Grove Atlantic

Publishers of Renate’s Story:
GERMANY, Klett-Cotta
FINLAND, WSOY/Johnny Kniga
FRANCE, Actes Sud

About author

Johanna Sinisalo

Johanna Sinisalo (b. 1958) is a Finlandia Prize-winning superstar of Finnish speculative fiction. In addition to her nine novels, she has also written short fiction and film and television screenplays. Her works have been translated into twenty languages.

Sinisalo has won several literary prizes also abroad, such as the 2004 James Tiptree, Jr. Award and the 2017 Prometheus Award, and was nominated for the Nebula Award in 2008, the Prix Escapades in 2012, and the Grand Prix de L’Imaginaire in 2017. In 2022, Johanna Sinisalo was awarded the Pro Finlandia Medal for services to Finnish literature.


2021, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Storm Flute

Johanna Sinisalo

2020, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Strangers Inside

Johanna Sinisalo

2018, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo

2013, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Core of The Sun

Johanna Sinisalo

2011, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Blood of Angels

Johanna Sinisalo

2010, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

The Möbius Twist

Johanna Sinisalo

2008, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo

2000, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo