The Core of the Sun nominated for 2013’s best science fiction book

sinisalo_070114We are thrilled to share the news that Johanna Sinisalo’s The Core of the Sun (Auringon ydin, Teos 2013) has been shortlisted for the prestigious Tähtivaeltaja (“Star Traveller”) award. Recognizing the previous year’s best science fiction book published in Finland, the award is given out by the Helsinki Science Fiction Association. Past winners have included Cormac McCarthy’s The Road and Philip K. Dick’s The Man in The High Castle. Emmi Itäranta’s Memory of Water was among last year’s nominees. The first Tähtivaeltaja award was given in 1986.
Finlandia Prize-winning Sinisalo is one of Finland’s most successful authors, and her works have been translated into 19 languages.
“[The Core of the Sun] is a chillingly intelligent dystopia about a health-fascist version of Finland that oppresses women,” the jury said.
Other nominees are Iain M. Banks (Transition), Lauren Beukes (The Shining Girls), Hugh Howey (Wool) and Peter Watts (Blindsight). The winner will be announced in May.
The Core of the Sun depicts the Finnish Eusistocratic Republic, a kind of North Korea of Europe. Here sex has been turned into a commodity, and women have been bred into two subspecies based on their ability to provide pleasure and bear children.

Rights sold:
Czech Republic, Euromedia
France, Actes Sud
Germany, Klett-Cotta

Original publisher: Finland, Teos

Reading materials:
German edition
English sample
Finnish edition


Johanna Sinisalo

Johanna Sinisalo (b. 1958) is a Finlandia-Prize winning superstar of Finnish speculative fiction. In addition to her eight novels, she has also written short fiction and film and television screenplays. Her works have been translated into twenty languages. 

Sinisalo has won several literary prizes also abroad, such as the 2004 James Tiptree, Jr. Award and the 2017 Prometheus Award, and was nominated for the Nebula Award in 2008, the Prix Escapades in 2012, and the Grand Prix de L’Imaginaire in 2017.


Johanna Sinisalo

The Storm Flute

2021, Literary Fiction, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Johanna Sinisalo

Strangers Inside

2020, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Johanna Sinisalo


2018, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Johanna Sinisalo

The Core of The Sun

2013, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Johanna Sinisalo

Blood of Angels

2011, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Johanna Sinisalo

The Möbius Twist

2010, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Johanna Sinisalo


2008, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Johanna Sinisalo

Troll, AKA Not Before Sundown

2000, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Related news