Leena Lehtolainen visiting New York

Lehtolainen_Ensimmainen-murhani_AMAZON_etukansiWe are thrilled to announce that Leena Lehtolainen will be in New York this week promoting her Maria Kallio mystery series.

Amazon has so far published My First Murder (Ensimmäinen murhani, Tammi 1993), Her Enemy (Harmin paikka, Tammi 1994) and Copper Heart (Kuparisydän, Tammi 1995) to great reviews and sales. The fourth Maria Kallio novel Snow Woman (Luminainen, Tammi 1996) will be published in 2014.

Leena’s American and English-speaking readers can order their signed copies of Maria Kallio mystery novels now from The Mysterious Bookshop where she will stop by and sign her books on Wednesday 20th November from 3:00 pm to 5:00 pm.

On Wednesday 20th November at 7:30 pm Maria Kallio fans will have the opportunity to attend Leena Lehtolainen’s Book Reading at the Salmagundi Art Club.

My First Murder introduces readers to Kallio, a rookie detective in the Helsinki Police Department’s Violent Crimes Unit, as she investigates her first homicide. Young, inexperienced, and female, Kallio faces the additional burden of having known the victim – a playboy with a few dark secrets – and the circle of suspects from her university days. As she doggedly pursues a series of false leads and puzzling clues, Kallio must turn her personal relationships with the group into an Lehtolainen_Her Enemy_Amazon Crossing 2013_FINAL coveradvantage to flush out the killer and prove she has what it takes for a career in the crime squad. My First Murder introduces readers to a hard-boiled yet soft-hearted new crime fiction heroine who combines the steely determination of Henning Mankell’s Kurt Wallander with the accessibility and personality of Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone.

After solving her first murder and leaving the Helsinki Police Department behind, Maria Kallio thought that a move to the neighboring city of Espoo would signal a fresh start—a chance to not only put her new law degree to use, but to nurture her budding romance with Antti Sarkela. But when she discovers the strangled body of a new acquaintance, old habits die hard for the redheaded sleuth – especially since the accused is not only the victim’s fiancé, but a member of Antti’s family. Kallio soon finds herself unofficially investigating the murder, now labeled a sex crime. To crack the case, she’ll have to pull back the curtain on Espoo high society – and uncover a secret someone is willing to kill to keep hidden.

Former Helsinki police sergeant Maria Kallio gladly left her hometown of Arpikylä without looking back. But when the town’s sheriff asks her to serve as a deputy for a few months, she agrees. What should have been a quiet summer soon turns dramatic—and deadly. Meritta, an outspoken local artist, Lehtolainen_Cover_Copper Heart_(c) Amazon Crossing 2013plunges to her death from the tower of the town’s shuttered copper mine, and Kallio immediately suspects foul play. Now Kallio must face the harsh truth that one of the town’s residents killed Meritta, and friends she has known for decades all harbor their own murderous motives—even Johnny, her gorgeous former crush who almost makes her forget about her boyfriend Antti, now studying in Chicago. The past and present of the beloved detective violently collide, leaving her future in grave danger.

The Maria Kallio mystery series: Rights Sold in 28 languages
World English, Amazon
Brazil, Autentica
Denmark, Bazar
France, Gaia
Germany, Rowohlt
Greece, Livani
Hungary, Animus
Israel, Penn
Japan, Tokyo Sogensha
Latvia, Zvaigzne
Norway, Bazar
Poland, Rebis
Russia, Ast
Spain, Destino
Sweden, Bazar
Taiwan, Linking
Turkey, Bizim Kitaplar
TV rights, Studio Hamburg

Original publisher: Finland, Tammi

Leena Lehtolainen’s works have also been published in (rights reverted):
Albania, China, Czech, Estonia, Italy, Lithuania, Netherlands, Romania, Slovakia, Ukraine

Reading materials:
Finnish Edition of Books 1-12
English Edition of Books 1-3
German Edition of Books 1-11
English Text of Book 11
French edition of Books 1-4

World rights and enquiries:

About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 30 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music and follows lynx trails in the forests – just like Maria Kallio.


2023, Crime & Suspense

A Crossing in the Darkness

Leena Lehtolainen

2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Crossing of the Green Dragon

Leena Lehtolainen

2021, Crime & Suspense

The Lynx Factor

Leena Lehtolainen

2020, Crime & Suspense

The Ripple Effect

Leena Lehtolainen

2019, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2018, Crime & Suspense

The Killer's Girlfriend

Leena Lehtolainen

2017, Crime & Suspense

The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

The Charm of Ice

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, Crime & Suspense

The Eye of the Tiger

Leena Lehtolainen

2015, Crime & Suspense

A Stroke of Sadness

Leena Lehtolainen

2013, Crime & Suspense

The Iron Triangle

Leena Lehtolainen

2012, Crime & Suspense

The Devil's Cubs

Leena Lehtolainen

2011, Crime & Suspense

The Lion of Justice

Leena Lehtolainen

2010, Crime & Suspense

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

Leena Lehtolainen

2009, Crime & Suspense

The Bodyguard

Leena Lehtolainen

2008, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2005, Crime & Suspense

The Nightingale Murder

Leena Lehtolainen

2003, Crime & Suspense

Below the Surface

Leena Lehtolainen

2000, Crime & Suspense

Before I Go

Leena Lehtolainen

1998, Crime & Suspense

Fatal Headwind

Leena Lehtolainen

1997, Crime & Suspense

Death Spiral

Leena Lehtolainen

1996, Crime & Suspense

Snow Woman

Leena Lehtolainen

1995, Crime & Suspense

Copper Heart

Leena Lehtolainen

1994, Crime & Suspense

Her Enemy

Leena Lehtolainen

1993, Crime & Suspense

My First Murder

Leena Lehtolainen