Destino to publish The Bodyguard Trilogy by Leena Lehtolainen!

The World Spanish rights of Leena Lehtolainen’s The Bodyguard Trilogy have been acquired by Ediciones Destino for publication starting in 2013. Previously, the rights to The Bodyguard Trilogy have been sold to Amazon Publishing (World English), Hachette Livre (French) and Azbooka-Atticus (Russia) for publication in 2013. Also Unieboek | Het Spectrum bought the rights of The Bodyguard for publication in Dutch in 2013. Rowohlt has been publishing all Lehtolainen works in German since 2002, and The Lion of Justice, Book 2 in The Bodyguard Trilogy, will be published in January 2013.

In Finland Tammi is publishing the third book in the trilogy, The Devil’s Cubs, on August 9th, 2012. The film rights to The Bodyguard Trilogy are optioned by Solar Films Inc. All in all the rights to Leena Lehtolainen’s crime novels – The Bodyguard Trilogy and the Maria Kallio series – are now sold in 26 languages.

The Bodyguard, The Lion of
Justice, The Devil’s Cubs
Rights sold
WORLD ENGLISH, Amazon Publishing
FRANCE, Hachette Livre
GERMANY, Rowohlt/Kindler
NETHERLANDS, Unieboek | Het Spectrum
SPAIN, Destino
RUSSIA, Azbooka-Atticus

Please contact the agency for rights enquiries and reading materials in English, German and French!, Literary Agent
, Associate Agent
, Rights Assistant

About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 30 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music and follows lynx trails in the forests – just like Maria Kallio.


2023, Crime & Suspense

A Crossing in the Darkness

Leena Lehtolainen

2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Crossing of the Green Dragon

Leena Lehtolainen

2021, Crime & Suspense

The Lynx Factor

Leena Lehtolainen

2020, Crime & Suspense

The Ripple Effect

Leena Lehtolainen

2019, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2018, Crime & Suspense

The Killer's Girlfriend

Leena Lehtolainen

2017, Crime & Suspense

The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

The Charm of Ice

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, Crime & Suspense

The Eye of the Tiger

Leena Lehtolainen

2015, Crime & Suspense

A Stroke of Sadness

Leena Lehtolainen

2013, Crime & Suspense

The Iron Triangle

Leena Lehtolainen

2012, Crime & Suspense

The Devil's Cubs

Leena Lehtolainen

2011, Crime & Suspense

The Lion of Justice

Leena Lehtolainen

2010, Crime & Suspense

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

Leena Lehtolainen

2009, Crime & Suspense

The Bodyguard

Leena Lehtolainen

2008, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2005, Crime & Suspense

The Nightingale Murder

Leena Lehtolainen

2003, Crime & Suspense

Below the Surface

Leena Lehtolainen

2000, Crime & Suspense

Before I Go

Leena Lehtolainen

1998, Crime & Suspense

Fatal Headwind

Leena Lehtolainen

1997, Crime & Suspense

Death Spiral

Leena Lehtolainen

1996, Crime & Suspense

Snow Woman

Leena Lehtolainen

1995, Crime & Suspense

Copper Heart

Leena Lehtolainen

1994, Crime & Suspense

Her Enemy

Leena Lehtolainen

1993, Crime & Suspense

My First Murder

Leena Lehtolainen