Third Maria Kallio novel by Leena Lehtolainen sold to Tokyo Sogensha in Japan

We are thrilled to announce that Tokyo Sogensha has acquired rights to Upwind (Tuulen puolella, Tammi 1998), which is already the third Maria Kallio novel by Leena Lehtolainen to be published in Japan. Snow Woman (Luminainen, Tammi 1996) was published in Japan in early Spring 2013 to great reviews, and Death Spiral (Kuolemanspiraali, Tammi 1997) will be published in Fall 2013. Japanese readers will enjoy more Maria Kallio mysteries when Upwind will be publsihed in Fall 2014.

“This is a rich, rewarding book. […]” – Sunday Mainichi, Japan

“[…] It’s a tightly-plotted mystery. I cannot wait for the next volume of this series.” – J-Novel, Japan

The 12th Maria Kallio crime novel, Iron Triangle (Rautakolmio, Tammi), was published in Finland on August 8th, 2013 and it is topping all bestseller lists in Finland. Leena Lehtolainen was promoting her new book at the Academic Bookstore in Helsinki to her fans.

Leena Lehtolainen’s Maria Kallio series have been sold in 28 languages so far:

lehtolainen_Japani_luminainenkansiRIGHTS SOLD: in 28 languages
World English, Amazon
Brazil, Grupo Autentica
Czech, Hejkal
Denmark, Bazar
Finland, Tammi
France, Gaïa Editions
Germany, Rowohlt
Greece, Livani
Hungary, Animus
Israel, Penn Publishing
Japan, Tokyo Sogensha
Latvia, Zvaigzne
Netherlands, A W Bruna
Norway, Bazar
Poland, Rebis
Russia, Ast
Spain, Destino
Sweden, Bazar
Taiwan, Linking
lehtolainen_AkateeminenTurkey, Bizim Kitaplar
TV rights, Studio Hamburg

Leena Lehtolainen’s works have also been published in: (rights reverted)
Albania, China, Estonia, Italy, Lithuania, Romanian, Slovakia, Ukraine

READING MATERIAL: Maria Kallio series
Finnish edition of Books 1-12
English edition of Books 1-3
English sample of Book 11
German edition of Books 1-11
French edition of Books 1-4

Please contact the Agency for reading materials and rights enquiries in your territory:


Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Leena’s brand new title The Ripple Effect will be published in August 2020. It is already the 15th book of the super popular Maria Kallio series that has sold over 2 million copies worldwide!

* * *

The 1993 book Ensimmäinen murhani (My First Murder) kicked off Lehtolainen’s first and on-going crime novel series, which has brought an enthusiastically-received female perspective to the male-dominated detective genre through its distinctively down-to-earth heroine Maria Kallio. The Bodyguard Trilogy, meanwhile, stars a New York-trained bodyguard who is fiercely self-sufficient, highly alert to her surroundings, and haunted by horrific violence in her past.

Lehtolainen published her first novel at the age of 12; this work of juvenile fiction appeared in 1976. Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music from 70’s punk to Schubert and Bach – just like Maria Kallio, the heroine of Lehtolainen’s crime novel series. And just as events in the Bodyguard (trilogy take the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.





Leena Lehtolainen

The Charm of Ice

2016, Non-Fiction

Leena Lehtolainen

My First Murder

1993, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

Her Enemy

1994, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

Copper Heart

1995, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

Snow Woman

1996, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

Death Spiral

1997, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

Fatal Headwind

1998, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

Before I Go

2000, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

The Rage

2003, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

Indecent Nightingale

2005, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

On the Wrong Track

2008, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

2010, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

Iron Triangle

2013, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

A Stroke of Sadness

2015, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

The Bodyguard

2009, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

The Lion of Justice

2011, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

The Devil’s Cubs

2012, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

The Eye of the Tiger

2016, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

The End of Innocence

2017, Crime & Thriller

Below the Surface US cover image

Leena Lehtolainen

Below the Surface

2003, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

The Killer’s Girlfriend

2018, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

The Oathbreaker

2019 Fall, Crime & Thriller

Leena Lehtolainen

Ripple Effect

2020 Fall, Crime & Thriller

Related news