Critics applaud Leena Lehtolainen’s latest work of upmarket women’s fiction

LehtolainennewsletterSept24A Life in Six Scenes (Kuusi kohtausta Sadusta, Tammi 2014), the new work of literary women’s fiction by bestselling crime author Leena Lehtolainen, has earned plenty of positive critical attention since its publication in August.

Is identity defined in love, in art, or on the public stage? A Life in Six Scenes tells the story of magnetic but divisive artist Satu Savinainen, whose lover Heikki Sirviö adapts her life into a play. Satu begins to get second thoughts about the collision between her private and public lives, and before the play’s premiere, she disappears. Lehtolainen’s novel incorporates the stage play into its narrative. For fans of authors such as Siri Hustvedt!

Praise for A Life in Six Scenes:

“[Character] Heikki Sirviö wrestles with his own motivations, as do all authors of memoirs and biographies. What will he leave out and what will he highlight in order to tell an interesting true story? The question remains: who has the copyright to one’s own life?”
Helsingin sanomat newspaper, Finland

“Lehtolainen’s expertise with technique reaches a masterful level in this examination of an artist’s personal boundaries.”
Aamulehti newspaper, Finland

“It’s wonderful to see that Lehtolainen has the courage to experiment and renew herself as a writer.”
Amman lukuhetki (“Amma’s Reading Moment”) literature blog, Finland

“Lehtolainen skilfully weaves together a novel and a play into a fascinating whole…She has broken boundaries successfully, and in her own way.”
Kulttuuri kukoistaa (“Culture Blooms“) literature blog, Finland

“Lehtolainen has delved into the world of theatre with commendable results.”
Kirsin kirjanurkka (“Kirsi’s Book Corner“) literature blog, Finland

This week Lehtolainen is meeting her French readers at the Festival Est-Ouest in Die, southerastern France. Next month she will attend the Frankfurt Book Fair (October 8th to 12th), where Finland is Guest of Honour in 2014 (see more information here). On November 11th, meanwhile, Lehtolainen will visit New York for the launch of the new Helsinki Noir anthology, published by Akashic Books.

About the author:

Leena Lehtolainen (b. 1964) is Finland’s bestselling female crime author, whose titles consistently top local bestseller lists. She has written more than 20 novels, and rights to her works have been sold in 29 territories. Sales have exceeded two million copies worldwide. In addition to her career as an author, which takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events around the globe, she has also worked as a literary researcher, columnist and critic. After two recent mystery series starring police officer Maria Kallio and bodyguard Hilja Ilveskero, both of which have found success around the world, Lehtolainen returns to literary fiction in A Life in Six Scenes.

The Maria Kallio series:
Original publisher:
BRAZIL, Autentica
GERMANY, Rowohlt
GREECE, Livani
JAPAN, Tokyo Sogensha
LATVIA, Zvaigzne
SPAIN, Destino
TAIWAN, Linking
TURKEY, Bizim Kitaplar
TV RIGHTS, Studio Hamburg

The Bodyguard Trilogy:
Original publisher:
ARMENIA, Guitank
FRANCE, Hachette Livre
GERMANY, Rowohlt
NETHERLANDS, Unieboek | Het Spectrum
RUSSIA, Azbooka-Atticus
SPAIN, Destino
TAIWAN, Linking
TURKEY, Nemesis

For information and reading materials contact:


About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 30 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music and follows lynx trails in the forests – just like Maria Kallio.


2023, Crime & Suspense

A Crossing in the Darkness

Leena Lehtolainen

2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Crossing of the Green Dragon

Leena Lehtolainen

2021, Crime & Suspense

The Lynx Factor

Leena Lehtolainen

2020, Crime & Suspense

The Ripple Effect

Leena Lehtolainen

2019, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2018, Crime & Suspense

The Killer's Girlfriend

Leena Lehtolainen

2017, Crime & Suspense

The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

The Charm of Ice

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, Crime & Suspense

The Eye of the Tiger

Leena Lehtolainen

2015, Crime & Suspense

A Stroke of Sadness

Leena Lehtolainen

2013, Crime & Suspense

The Iron Triangle

Leena Lehtolainen

2012, Crime & Suspense

The Devil's Cubs

Leena Lehtolainen

2011, Crime & Suspense

The Lion of Justice

Leena Lehtolainen

2010, Crime & Suspense

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

Leena Lehtolainen

2009, Crime & Suspense

The Bodyguard

Leena Lehtolainen

2008, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2005, Crime & Suspense

The Nightingale Murder

Leena Lehtolainen

2003, Crime & Suspense

Below the Surface

Leena Lehtolainen

2000, Crime & Suspense

Before I Go

Leena Lehtolainen

1998, Crime & Suspense

Fatal Headwind

Leena Lehtolainen

1997, Crime & Suspense

Death Spiral

Leena Lehtolainen

1996, Crime & Suspense

Snow Woman

Leena Lehtolainen

1995, Crime & Suspense

Copper Heart

Leena Lehtolainen

1994, Crime & Suspense

Her Enemy

Leena Lehtolainen

1993, Crime & Suspense

My First Murder

Leena Lehtolainen