Bestselling crime author Leena Lehtolainen shows a different voice with her new book

LehtolainenMar2014Leena Lehtolainen, Finland’s bestselling female crime author known particularly for her Maria Kallio and Bodyguard series, is coming out with a work of literary fiction this fall.

A Life in Six Scenes (Kuusi kohtausta Sadusta, Tammi, fall 2014) tells the story of magnetic but divisive artist Satu Savinainen and director Heikki Sirviö who is adapting her life into a play. In constructing an onstage narrative, Heikki has interviewed people in Satu’s life who all have differing and complex perceptions of her. Although enthusiastic about the production at first, Satu begins to get second thoughts about the collision between her private and public lives, and by opening night, she has disappeared.

A Life in Six Scenes is a mysterious psychological puzzle about a person’s identity, and how different we can seem to each person we meet.

“Who has the right to define, or describe the life of, another person? Can a person break down if his or her life is, essentially, stolen? I wanted to examine these questions in A Life in Six Scenes. I also wanted to experiment with a completely new structure by including a play within a novel. This has been the toughest, and the most ecstatic, writing process of my life,” says Leena Lehtolainen.

Lehtolainen’s works have been sold in 29 territories. The latest entry in the Maria Kallio series, Iron Triangle (Rautakolmio, Tammi), was published in Finland in August of 2013, and rose immediately onto the Finnish bestseller lists. Iron Triangle will be published in Germany by Rowohlt in September 2014.

In Japan, meanwhile, Upwind (Tuulen puolella, Tammi 1998), which is part of the Maria Kallio series, will be published in May of 2014 by Tokyo Sogensha. Death Spiral (Kuolemanspiraali, Tammi 1997) and Snow Woman (Luminainen, Tammi 1996), also of the Maria Kallio series, have recently received positive reviews in Japan. Major newspaper Tokyo Shimbun, for example, praised Lehtolainen’s use of humour in her mysteries.

The Bodyguard Trilogy:
ARMENIA, Guitank
FRANCE, Hachette Livre
GERMANY, Rowohlt
NETHERLANDS, Unieboek | Het Spectrum
RUSSIA, Azbooka-Atticus
SPAIN, Destino
TAIWAN, Linking
TURKEY, Nemesis
Original publisher: Finland, Tammi

The Maria Kallio series:
BRAZIL, Autentica
GERMANY, Rowohlt
GREECE, Livani
JAPAN, Tokyo Sogensha
LATVIA, Zvaigzne
SPAIN, Destino
TAIWAN, Linking
TURKEY, Bizim Kitaplar
TV RIGHTS, Studio Hamburg
Original publisher: Finland, Tammi

Leena Lehtolainen’s works have also been published in (rights reverted): ALBANIA, CHINA, THE CZECH REPUBLIC, ESTONIA, ITALY, LITHUANIA, THE NETHERLANDS, ROMANIA, SLOVAKIA, UKRAINE


About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 30 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music and follows lynx trails in the forests – just like Maria Kallio.


2023, Crime & Suspense

A Crossing in the Darkness

Leena Lehtolainen

2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Crossing of the Green Dragon

Leena Lehtolainen

2021, Crime & Suspense

The Lynx Factor

Leena Lehtolainen

2020, Crime & Suspense

The Ripple Effect

Leena Lehtolainen

2019, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2018, Crime & Suspense

The Killer's Girlfriend

Leena Lehtolainen

2017, Crime & Suspense

The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

The Charm of Ice

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, Crime & Suspense

The Eye of the Tiger

Leena Lehtolainen

2015, Crime & Suspense

A Stroke of Sadness

Leena Lehtolainen

2013, Crime & Suspense

The Iron Triangle

Leena Lehtolainen

2012, Crime & Suspense

The Devil's Cubs

Leena Lehtolainen

2011, Crime & Suspense

The Lion of Justice

Leena Lehtolainen

2010, Crime & Suspense

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

Leena Lehtolainen

2009, Crime & Suspense

The Bodyguard

Leena Lehtolainen

2008, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2005, Crime & Suspense

The Nightingale Murder

Leena Lehtolainen

2003, Crime & Suspense

Below the Surface

Leena Lehtolainen

2000, Crime & Suspense

Before I Go

Leena Lehtolainen

1998, Crime & Suspense

Fatal Headwind

Leena Lehtolainen

1997, Crime & Suspense

Death Spiral

Leena Lehtolainen

1996, Crime & Suspense

Snow Woman

Leena Lehtolainen

1995, Crime & Suspense

Copper Heart

Leena Lehtolainen

1994, Crime & Suspense

Her Enemy

Leena Lehtolainen

1993, Crime & Suspense

My First Murder

Leena Lehtolainen