The Iron Triangle by Leena Lehtolainen is bestseller #1

Lehtolainen_Rautakolmio_etukansiWe are happy to share the news that Leena Lehtolainen‘s new Maria Kallio novel The Iron Triangle (Rautakolmio, Tammi 2013) was Finland’s fiction bestseller #1 in August 2013.  The Iron Triangle,  Book 12 in the internationally bestselling Maria Kallio Series, is an intense drama set in the Southern Finland archipelago. Two bodies, ghosts from the past, and a woman beaten to within an inch of her life. And Maria Kallio playing summer vacation widow with a handsome local cop. Read more here:
“ A strong lead character – obstinate, fearless, smart Maria Kallio...“ – Publishers Weekly, USA
“…a good choice for readers who like a young protagonist trying to establish herself in a man’s world,  not unlike Tess Gerritsen’s early Rizzoli and Isles titles.” – Library Journal, USA
German rights to The Iron Triangle have been sold to Rowohlt for publication in September 2014.
WORLD ENGLISH, Amazon                                    
BRAZIL, Grupo Autentica           
DENMARK, Bazar                                                     
FINLAND, Tammi                                                     
FRANCE, Gaïa Editions                                            
GERMANY, Rowohlt/Kindler                                 
GREECE, Livani                                                         
HUNGARY, Animus                                                   
ISRAEL, Penn Publishing            
JAPAN, Tokyo Sogensha                                          
LATVIA, Zvaigzne                                                     
NORWAY, Bazar                                                        
POLAND, Rebis                                                           
RUSSIA, Ast                                                                 
SPAIN, Ediciones Destino                                       
SWEDEN, Bazar                                                        
TAIWAN, Linking                         
TURKEY, Bizim Kitaplar                                          
TV RIGHTS, Studio Hamburg                                 
*Leena Lehtolainen’s works have also been published in: (rights reverted)
READING MATERIAL: Maria Kallio series
Finnish edition of Books 1- 12
English edition of Books 1-3

English sample of Book 11 (full text)

German edition of Books 1-11

French edition of Books 1-4
Please contact the Agency for reading materials and rights enquiries in your territory:

About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 30 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music and follows lynx trails in the forests – just like Maria Kallio.


2023, Crime & Suspense

A Crossing in the Darkness

Leena Lehtolainen

2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Crossing of the Green Dragon

Leena Lehtolainen

2021, Crime & Suspense

The Lynx Factor

Leena Lehtolainen

2020, Crime & Suspense

The Ripple Effect

Leena Lehtolainen

2019, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2018, Crime & Suspense

The Killer's Girlfriend

Leena Lehtolainen

2017, Crime & Suspense

The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

The Charm of Ice

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, Crime & Suspense

The Eye of the Tiger

Leena Lehtolainen

2015, Crime & Suspense

A Stroke of Sadness

Leena Lehtolainen

2013, Crime & Suspense

The Iron Triangle

Leena Lehtolainen

2012, Crime & Suspense

The Devil's Cubs

Leena Lehtolainen

2011, Crime & Suspense

The Lion of Justice

Leena Lehtolainen

2010, Crime & Suspense

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

Leena Lehtolainen

2009, Crime & Suspense

The Bodyguard

Leena Lehtolainen

2008, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2005, Crime & Suspense

The Nightingale Murder

Leena Lehtolainen

2003, Crime & Suspense

Below the Surface

Leena Lehtolainen

2000, Crime & Suspense

Before I Go

Leena Lehtolainen

1998, Crime & Suspense

Fatal Headwind

Leena Lehtolainen

1997, Crime & Suspense

Death Spiral

Leena Lehtolainen

1996, Crime & Suspense

Snow Woman

Leena Lehtolainen

1995, Crime & Suspense

Copper Heart

Leena Lehtolainen

1994, Crime & Suspense

Her Enemy

Leena Lehtolainen

1993, Crime & Suspense

My First Murder

Leena Lehtolainen