Rowohlt buys German rights to Leena Lehtolainen’s new novel The Iron Triangle!

rautakolmio_uutinenRowohltWe are thrilled to announce that the German rights to Leena Lehtolainen’s forthcoming novel The Iron Triangle (Rautakolmio, Tammi August 2013) have been sold to Rowohlt for publication in September 2014.

The Iron Triangle is an intense drama set in the Finnish archipelago. Book 12 in the internationally bestselling Maria Kallio series will be published in Finland on 8th of August 2013.  Maria Kallio’s Special Crimes Unit is assigned to solve the mystery of two corpses wrapped in plastic, found on the shore of tiny Brändö Island. As she investigates, alarming things float to the surface from Maria’s past. A serious assault in the family of the hockey player further complicates the situation. Who will make it home alive?

“Leena Lehtolainen has a winner with her debut thriller (My First Murder, Book 1 in Maria Kallio series). Detective Maria Kallio deserves a place alongside literature’s best tough but vulnerable detectives.“- Mystery Scene Magazine, US.

Leena Lehtolainen is the bestselling fermale crime author in Finland. Her new titles head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists. Lehtolainen’s books have been sold over two million copies worldwide, and rights have been sold in 29 languages.  In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music from 1970s punk to Bach – just like Maria Kallio, the heroine of her crime novel series. And just like events in the Bodyguard Trilogy take the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals and other events across the globe. Read more by clicking here

Maria Kallio series
World English, Amazon
Brazil, Autentica/Nemo
Czech, Hejkal
Denmark, Bazar
France, Gaïa
Germany, Rowohlt/Kindler
Greece, Livani
Hungary, Animus
Israel, Penn
Italy, Fanucci
Japan, Tokyo Sogensha
Latvia, Zvaigzne
The Netherlands, A.W. Bruna
Norway, Bazar
Poland, Rebis
Romania, Hardcover & Paperback
Russia, Ast
Spain, Destino
Sweden, Bazar
Taiwan, Linking
Turkey, Bizim Kitaplar

Reading material:
Finnish edition
English edition of Book 1, Book 2, Book 3 in Maria Kallio series
English sample of Book 11
German edition of Books 1-11
French editions of Book 1,2,3,4

Please ask the Agency for reading materials!

About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 30 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music and follows lynx trails in the forests – just like Maria Kallio.


2023, Crime & Suspense

A Crossing in the Darkness

Leena Lehtolainen

2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Crossing of the Green Dragon

Leena Lehtolainen

2021, Crime & Suspense

The Lynx Factor

Leena Lehtolainen

2020, Crime & Suspense

The Ripple Effect

Leena Lehtolainen

2019, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2018, Crime & Suspense

The Killer's Girlfriend

Leena Lehtolainen

2017, Crime & Suspense

The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

The Charm of Ice

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, Crime & Suspense

The Eye of the Tiger

Leena Lehtolainen

2015, Crime & Suspense

A Stroke of Sadness

Leena Lehtolainen

2013, Crime & Suspense

The Iron Triangle

Leena Lehtolainen

2012, Crime & Suspense

The Devil's Cubs

Leena Lehtolainen

2011, Crime & Suspense

The Lion of Justice

Leena Lehtolainen

2010, Crime & Suspense

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

Leena Lehtolainen

2009, Crime & Suspense

The Bodyguard

Leena Lehtolainen

2008, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2005, Crime & Suspense

The Nightingale Murder

Leena Lehtolainen

2003, Crime & Suspense

Below the Surface

Leena Lehtolainen

2000, Crime & Suspense

Before I Go

Leena Lehtolainen

1998, Crime & Suspense

Fatal Headwind

Leena Lehtolainen

1997, Crime & Suspense

Death Spiral

Leena Lehtolainen

1996, Crime & Suspense

Snow Woman

Leena Lehtolainen

1995, Crime & Suspense

Copper Heart

Leena Lehtolainen

1994, Crime & Suspense

Her Enemy

Leena Lehtolainen

1993, Crime & Suspense

My First Murder

Leena Lehtolainen