Leena Lehtolainen’s second Maria Kallio crime novel HER ENEMY published in the US!

We are thrilled to announce that Leena Lehtolainen’s Her Enemy (Harmin paikka, Tammi 1994) has been published in the US by Amazon Crossing to great reviews.  This second installment in the internationally bestselling Maria Kallio series was chosen for a “Summer Mystery and Thriller” campaign in the US. Third Maria Kallio crime novel Copperheart (Kuparisydän, Tammi 1995) will be published in Fall 2013 in the US.

Reviews : Her Enemy by Leena Lehtolainen

“A strong lead character—obstinate, fearless, smart Maria Kallio—makes up for the rocky plot of Lehtolainen’s second mystery featuring the former cop and novice lawyer (after 2012’s My First Murder). Kallio, who practices near Helsinki, gets deeply involved in the murder of Armi Mäenpää, a recent acquaintance strangled outside her own home.“
– Publishers Weekly

“This book is awesome and intense it has action and adventure but also has some mystery in it and kind of keeps you thinking like what’s going to happen next. If you’re the kind of person who loves mystery or action adventure then get this book it is incredible. You might become addicted! (…) Has a flowing writing style, interweaving the different characters and subplots, to a suspenseful finale. Would recommend.”
– Goodreads.com, MaryAnn Koopmann. 

“There’s a lot going on, making this a fast, absorbing crime novel. I’m hoping the rest of this series is translated into English soon!  Owen Whitesman has done an excellent job with the translation, making the book easily readable by an American audience.“
– Stacia the Bookworm

“I read this book in 2 days and very much enjoyed it. I found the pace tight and the character development nicely textured for a mystery novel. I would definitely seek out this author and buy her works once translated into English. I can usually figure out an ending of a mystery and I was surprised.”
– Quickbeam, Oconomowoc, WI USA,  Customer review from the Amazon Vine™ Program

Please ask the Agency for Reading materials!

About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 30 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music and follows lynx trails in the forests – just like Maria Kallio.


2023, Crime & Suspense

A Crossing in the Darkness

Leena Lehtolainen

2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Crossing of the Green Dragon

Leena Lehtolainen

2021, Crime & Suspense

The Lynx Factor

Leena Lehtolainen

2020, Crime & Suspense

The Ripple Effect

Leena Lehtolainen

2019, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2018, Crime & Suspense

The Killer's Girlfriend

Leena Lehtolainen

2017, Crime & Suspense

The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

The Charm of Ice

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, Crime & Suspense

The Eye of the Tiger

Leena Lehtolainen

2015, Crime & Suspense

A Stroke of Sadness

Leena Lehtolainen

2013, Crime & Suspense

The Iron Triangle

Leena Lehtolainen

2012, Crime & Suspense

The Devil's Cubs

Leena Lehtolainen

2011, Crime & Suspense

The Lion of Justice

Leena Lehtolainen

2010, Crime & Suspense

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

Leena Lehtolainen

2009, Crime & Suspense

The Bodyguard

Leena Lehtolainen

2008, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2005, Crime & Suspense

The Nightingale Murder

Leena Lehtolainen

2003, Crime & Suspense

Below the Surface

Leena Lehtolainen

2000, Crime & Suspense

Before I Go

Leena Lehtolainen

1998, Crime & Suspense

Fatal Headwind

Leena Lehtolainen

1997, Crime & Suspense

Death Spiral

Leena Lehtolainen

1996, Crime & Suspense

Snow Woman

Leena Lehtolainen

1995, Crime & Suspense

Copper Heart

Leena Lehtolainen

1994, Crime & Suspense

Her Enemy

Leena Lehtolainen

1993, Crime & Suspense

My First Murder

Leena Lehtolainen