Leena Lehtolainen shines in Scandinavia!

We are so excited to share the news about Leena Lehtolainen’s big success in Scandinavia. Last week Leena Lehtolainen visited Sweden in order to promote her latest Maria Kallio book Where Have All the Young Girls Gone? (Minne tytöt kadonneet, Tammi 2010) which has been published by Bazar in Sweden, Denmark and Norway in Fall 2012.

This 11th installment in the Maria Kallio series is an engrossing exploration of the collision between tradi­tion and the new multicultural Europe. The book takes Maria Kallio onto a journey to a world where daily life is defined by ancient beliefs and deeply ingrained, habitual perceptions.

Swedish readers, bloggers and critics fell in love with Var Är Alla Flickor Nu? and are waiting impatiently for more titles. Bazar Förlag is Lehtolainen’s new Swedish publisher, while this is already the 6th title by Leena Lehtolainen published in Swedish. During her visit to Sweden, Lehtolainen gave interviews to several major newspapers, such as Dagens Nyheter, which praises the book as a captivating and entertaining one in its review. Leena Lehtolainen also met with readers such as the popular blogger of Läsa&Lyssna. Please check the following YouTube link for an interview with Leena Lehtolainen (in Swedish): Leena Lehtolainen interview

Please contact the Agency for full English texts of Maria Kallio books 1, 2 and 11!

About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 30 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music and follows lynx trails in the forests – just like Maria Kallio.


2023, Crime & Suspense

A Crossing in the Darkness

Leena Lehtolainen

2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Crossing of the Green Dragon

Leena Lehtolainen

2021, Crime & Suspense

The Lynx Factor

Leena Lehtolainen

2020, Crime & Suspense

The Ripple Effect

Leena Lehtolainen

2019, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2018, Crime & Suspense

The Killer's Girlfriend

Leena Lehtolainen

2017, Crime & Suspense

The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

The Charm of Ice

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, Crime & Suspense

The Eye of the Tiger

Leena Lehtolainen

2015, Crime & Suspense

A Stroke of Sadness

Leena Lehtolainen

2013, Crime & Suspense

The Iron Triangle

Leena Lehtolainen

2012, Crime & Suspense

The Devil's Cubs

Leena Lehtolainen

2011, Crime & Suspense

The Lion of Justice

Leena Lehtolainen

2010, Crime & Suspense

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

Leena Lehtolainen

2009, Crime & Suspense

The Bodyguard

Leena Lehtolainen

2008, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2005, Crime & Suspense

The Nightingale Murder

Leena Lehtolainen

2003, Crime & Suspense

Below the Surface

Leena Lehtolainen

2000, Crime & Suspense

Before I Go

Leena Lehtolainen

1998, Crime & Suspense

Fatal Headwind

Leena Lehtolainen

1997, Crime & Suspense

Death Spiral

Leena Lehtolainen

1996, Crime & Suspense

Snow Woman

Leena Lehtolainen

1995, Crime & Suspense

Copper Heart

Leena Lehtolainen

1994, Crime & Suspense

Her Enemy

Leena Lehtolainen

1993, Crime & Suspense

My First Murder

Leena Lehtolainen