Film rights to Leena Lehtolainen’s THE BODYGUARD TRILOGY optioned to Solar Films Inc., the leading production company in Finland

The Elina Ahlback Literary Agency is thrilled to announce that Solar Films Inc. has optioned the film rights to Leena Lehtolainen’s bestselling BODYGUARD TRILOGY.  The production company plans to make the three novels into three independent movies. A production schedule for the movies has not yet been determined.  Solar Films is the producer of the upcoming movie PURGE, a film adaptation of Sofi Oksanen’s renowned novel.

The first book of Leena Lehtolainen’s bestselling trilogy, The Bodyguard, was published by Tammi Publishers in 2009, and the second book, The Lion of Justice, in 2011. The third book, The Devils Cubs, will come out in August 2012. Rights to the trilogy have been sold to Germany and USA: the German edition of The Bodyguard  (Die Leibwächterin) was published in 2011 by Rowohlt, Lion of Justice will come out in Fall 2012.  World English editions of the trilogy are scheduled for publication in 2012–2013 from Amazon Publishing.

Leena Lehtolainen’s books have been translated into 25 languages so far and sold over 2 million copies worldwide.

The heroine of the trilogy is a New York trained Finnish bodyguard Hilja Ilveskero, whose work takes her around the world. The trilogy is a suspenseful international thriller, rich in irony and humour.

This is not the first time that Leena Lehtolainen’s books have been adapted into screenplays: a TV movie The Killing One, a popular TV series Maria Kallio and a TV miniseries Gränsfall are all based on her novels. Lehtolainen has written more than twenty novels, all published by Tammi Publishers. Her first novel, And Suddenly it’s May (Ja äkkiä onkin kevät) came out in 1976, when Lehtolainen was only 12 years old. Lehtolainen has received recognition as an author, including two awards from the Finnish Whodunnit Society in 1997 and 1998 and two nominations for the Glass Key award by the Crime Writers of Scandinavia in 2002 and 2003.


For more information please contact  Elina Ahlback, Literary Agent, CEO:

About author

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Lehtolainen created her successful protagonist, detective Maria Kallio, in 1993. Having already featured in 16 novels and a complete TV series, a new Maria Kallio TV reboot series was launched in Fall 2021 on C More. Lehtolainen’s novels have been translated into 30 languages and have sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide.

And just like the events in Bodyguard, a that takes the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.

Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland, and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

The Crossing of the Green Dragon is her first title for YA audiences.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music and follows lynx trails in the forests – just like Maria Kallio.


2023, Crime & Suspense

A Crossing in the Darkness

Leena Lehtolainen

2022, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Crossing of the Green Dragon

Leena Lehtolainen

2021, Crime & Suspense

The Lynx Factor

Leena Lehtolainen

2020, Crime & Suspense

The Ripple Effect

Leena Lehtolainen

2019, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2018, Crime & Suspense

The Killer's Girlfriend

Leena Lehtolainen

2017, Crime & Suspense

The End of Innocence

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

The Charm of Ice

Leena Lehtolainen

2016, Crime & Suspense

The Eye of the Tiger

Leena Lehtolainen

2015, Crime & Suspense

A Stroke of Sadness

Leena Lehtolainen

2013, Crime & Suspense

The Iron Triangle

Leena Lehtolainen

2012, Crime & Suspense

The Devil's Cubs

Leena Lehtolainen

2011, Crime & Suspense

The Lion of Justice

Leena Lehtolainen

2010, Crime & Suspense

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

Leena Lehtolainen

2009, Crime & Suspense

The Bodyguard

Leena Lehtolainen

2008, Crime & Suspense


Leena Lehtolainen

2005, Crime & Suspense

The Nightingale Murder

Leena Lehtolainen

2003, Crime & Suspense

Below the Surface

Leena Lehtolainen

2000, Crime & Suspense

Before I Go

Leena Lehtolainen

1998, Crime & Suspense

Fatal Headwind

Leena Lehtolainen

1997, Crime & Suspense

Death Spiral

Leena Lehtolainen

1996, Crime & Suspense

Snow Woman

Leena Lehtolainen

1995, Crime & Suspense

Copper Heart

Leena Lehtolainen

1994, Crime & Suspense

Her Enemy

Leena Lehtolainen

1993, Crime & Suspense

My First Murder

Leena Lehtolainen