Johanna Sinisalo nominated for the Tähtivaeltaja award 2012

We are thrilled to report that Johanna Sinisalo has been nominated for the Tähtivaeltaja Award 2012. The Helsinki Science Fiction Association yearly elects the most outstanding science fiction book published in Finland, and Johanna Sinisalo has been nominated for her latest work, The Blood of Angels (Enkelten verta, Teos 2011). Published last September, the novel has received excellent reviews and won the P.E. Svinhufvud Memorial Foundation Literary Prize.

Foreign rights news:

Actes Sud has recently acquired the French rights of The Blood of Angels and plans to publish in 2013.

Moreover, the rights to Johanna Sinisalo’s earlier work, Not Before Sundown (Ennen päivänlaskua ei voi, Tammi 2000) are currently negotiated with Brazilian (Portuguese) and Bulgarian publishers. In the very near future Johanna’s Finlandia Prize winning novel will be available all in all in 16 languages!

Please ask for reading copies and sample translations of Johanna Sinisalo’s works from the Agency!

About author

Johanna Sinisalo

Johanna Sinisalo (b. 1958) is a Finlandia Prize-winning superstar of Finnish speculative fiction. In addition to her nine novels, she has also written short fiction and film and television screenplays. Her works have been translated into twenty languages.

Sinisalo has won several literary prizes also abroad, such as the 2004 James Tiptree, Jr. Award and the 2017 Prometheus Award, and was nominated for the Nebula Award in 2008, the Prix Escapades in 2012, and the Grand Prix de L’Imaginaire in 2017. In 2022, Johanna Sinisalo was awarded the Pro Finlandia Medal for services to Finnish literature.


2021, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Storm Flute

Johanna Sinisalo

2020, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Strangers Inside

Johanna Sinisalo

2018, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo

2013, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Core of The Sun

Johanna Sinisalo

2011, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Blood of Angels

Johanna Sinisalo

2010, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

The Möbius Twist

Johanna Sinisalo

2008, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo

2000, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo