Rights to Leena Lehtolainen’s works sold to 19 countries

Leena Lehtolainen Minne tytöt kadonneetThe Elina Ahlback Literary Agency has sold the Norwegian, Swedish and Danish rights to Leena Lehtolainens latest crime novel Where Have All the Young Girls Gone to Bazar Publishers. The bestseller, released by Tammi Publishers in Finland in August, takes on the burning topical issue of xenophobia and the fear of the unknown. It has aroused exceptional enthusiasm and demand worldwide. Where Have All the Young Girls Gone will be published in Norway, Sweden and Denmark in Spring 2012. Translation rights have been previously sold to Taiwan at the Frankfurt Book Fair, and as soon as the book appeared, rights were sold to Germany, where it will be published in 2012.

Bazar Publishers provides Leena Lehtolainen’s works with brilliant marketing possibilities in Scandinavia and will lavish Nordic detective fans with gripping bestsellers in the future as well. Leena Lehtolainen’s books have sold over 1,5 million copies worldwide and her crime novels will also be published in France, Spain, Italy, Russia, Turkey and Poland, according to previous agreements. All in all, Leena Lehtolainen’s books are presently being translated into 19 languages.

The Elina Ahlback Literary Agency is Finland’s foremost international literary agency, representing Finnish and other Nordic writers and publishers in the international markets, as well as foreign authors, publishers and agents in the Nordic Countries. The Elina Ahlback Literary Agency has been collaborating with Tammi Publishers, Leena Lehtolainen’s publisher in Finland, since the beginning of March 2010.

More information: Elina Ahlbäck, Literary Agent, CEO, tel. +358 400 548 402

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen is the top female crime author in Finland: her new titles always head straight to #1 on the Finnish bestseller lists.

Leena’s brand new title The Ripple Effect was published in August 2020. It is already the 15th book of the very popular Maria Kallio series that has sold over 2,5 million copies worldwide!

* * *

The 1993 book Ensimmäinen murhani (My First Murder) kicked off Lehtolainen’s first and on-going crime novel series, which has brought an enthusiastically-received female perspective to the male-dominated detective genre through its distinctively down-to-earth heroine Maria Kallio. The Bodyguard Trilogy, meanwhile, stars a New York-trained bodyguard who is fiercely self-sufficient, highly alert to her surroundings, and haunted by horrific violence in her past.

Lehtolainen published her first novel at the age of 12; this work of juvenile fiction appeared in 1976. Leena Lehtolainen has also published outside the crime genre; her book The Charm of Figure Skating was voted sports book of the year 2010 in Finland and A Life in Six Scenes showed her return to literary fiction.

In her free time, Lehtolainen enjoys all kinds of music from 70’s punk to Schubert and Bach – just like Maria Kallio, the heroine of Lehtolainen’s crime novel series. And just as events in the Bodyguard (trilogy take the heroine Hilja Ilveskero all around Europe, Lehtolainen’s own work takes her to book festivals, exhibitions and other events across the globe.


Leena Lehtolainen

The Ripple Effect

2020, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen


2019, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Killer's Girlfriend

2018, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The End of Innocence

2017, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Charm of Ice

2016, General Nonfiction, Memories & Biographies

Leena Lehtolainen

The Eye of the tiger

2016, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

A Stroke of Sadness

2015, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Iron Triangle

2013, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Devil's Cubs

2012, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Lion of Justice

2011, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Where Have All the Young Girls Gone

2010, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Bodyguard

2009, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

On the Wrong Track

2008, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

The Nightingale Murder

2005, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Below the Surface

2003, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Before I Go

2000, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Fatal Headwind

1998, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Death Spiral

1997, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Snow Woman

1996, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Copper Heart

1995, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

Her Enemy

1994, Crime & Suspense

Leena Lehtolainen

My First Murder

1993, Crime & Suspense

Related news