Johanna Sinisalo’s award-winning novel The Blood of Angels will publish in France in May 2013!

Sinisalo_Enkelten verta_Ranska_kansi

We are happy to announce that Johanna Sinisalo’s award-winning novel The Blood of Angels (Enkelten verta, Teos 2011) will be launched in France by Actes Sud on May 2nd, 2013: Le Sang des fleurs.

“Johanna Sinisalo chills the blood with her vision of the disappearance of bees (…) Sinisalo succeeds wonderfully in depicting the threats facing the entire world through one individual’s personal tragedy” – Aamulehti

Johanna Sinisalo (b. 1958) is one of Finland’s most successful and internationally acclaimed authors. Praised by readers and critics alike, she has won several literary prizes, among them the Finlandia Prize in 2000 and the James Tiptree, Jr. Award in 2004.  Johanna Sinisalo has been nominated for the Prix Escapades 2012 and Nebula Awards 2008.

Recently Peter Owen acquired the World English rights of The Blood of Angels. All in all, Johanna Sinisalo’s works have been translated into 18 languages, including English, German, Albanian, Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, French, Japanese, Latvian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish.

In Fall 2013, Johanna Sinisalo tells the story of The Eusistocratic Republic of Finland in 2013 in her new novel: The Core of the Sun ( Auringon ydin, Teos 2013).

Johanna Sinisalo is one of the screenwriters of the comic science fiction action film Iron Sky (Energia Productions, 2012).

Please ask the Agency for reading materials.

About author

Johanna Sinisalo

Johanna Sinisalo (b. 1958) is a Finlandia-Prize winning superstar of Finnish speculative fiction. In addition to her nine novels, she has also written short fiction and film and television screenplays. Her works have been translated into twenty languages.

Sinisalo has won several literary prizes also abroad, such as the 2004 James Tiptree, Jr. Award and the 2017 Prometheus Award, and was nominated for the Nebula Award in 2008, the Prix Escapades in 2012, and the Grand Prix de L’Imaginaire in 2017.

In 2022, Johanna Sinisalo was awarded the Pro Finlandia Medal for services to Finnish literature! Founded in 1943, the Pro Finlandia Medal of the Order of the Lion of Finland is a distinction awarded by the President of Finland to artists and writers in recognition of their long meritorious work and exceptional services to Finnish art, drama, literature and music.


2021, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Storm Flute

Johanna Sinisalo

2020, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Strangers Inside

Johanna Sinisalo

2018, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo

2013, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Core of The Sun

Johanna Sinisalo

2011, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Blood of Angels

Johanna Sinisalo

2010, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

The Möbius Twist

Johanna Sinisalo

2008, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo

2000, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo