Johanna Sinisalo’s Birdbrain nominated for the 2012 International Impac Dublin Literary Award

Sinisalo BirdbrainCongratulations to Johanna Sinisalo, whose 2008 novel Birdbrain (Linnunaivot) has been nominated for the 2012 International Impac Dublin Literary Award. Birdbrain was nominated by the Helsinki City Library and is among 147 titles that have been nominated for the longlist by libraries around the world. With an award sum of 100,000 €, The Impac Dublin Literary Award is the world’s most valuable annual literary prize for a single work of fiction published in English. The 147 nominations come from 122 cities and 45 countries worldwide. Sinisalo’s Birdbrain is one of the 34 titles in translation. Other translated authors include Isabel Allende, David Grossman, Don DeLillo, Michael Cunningham, Sofi Oksanen and Jo Nesbo. Birdbrain has been translated into English by David Hackston, who will also be awarded if Birdbrain wins.

The shortlist will be announced on April 12th, 2012 and the winner will be announced on June 13th, 2012.

Birdbrain was also selected A Guardian Book of the Year in 2010 and nominated for the Prix Escapades in 2012.

Please read more about the book here and ask the agency for more information and reading copies.

About author

Johanna Sinisalo

Johanna Sinisalo (b. 1958) is a Finlandia Prize-winning superstar of Finnish speculative fiction. In addition to her nine novels, she has also written short fiction and film and television screenplays. Her works have been translated into twenty languages.

Sinisalo has won several literary prizes also abroad, such as the 2004 James Tiptree, Jr. Award and the 2017 Prometheus Award, and was nominated for the Nebula Award in 2008, the Prix Escapades in 2012, and the Grand Prix de L’Imaginaire in 2017. In 2022, Johanna Sinisalo was awarded the Pro Finlandia Medal for services to Finnish literature.


2021, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Storm Flute

Johanna Sinisalo

2020, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Strangers Inside

Johanna Sinisalo

2018, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo

2013, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Core of The Sun

Johanna Sinisalo

2011, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Blood of Angels

Johanna Sinisalo

2010, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

The Möbius Twist

Johanna Sinisalo

2008, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo

2000, Fantasy & Science Fiction


Johanna Sinisalo