Oneiron by Laura Lindstedt nominated for the Finlandia Prize!

LindstedtOct23We wish our warmest congratulations to Laura Lindstedt, who has been shortlisted for the Finlandia Prize with Oneiron (Teos 2015), her critically celebrated novel about seven women who meet in a white, undefined space after death.

The annual Finlandia Prize is considered the highest honor bestowed upon a Finnish novel. Lindstedt is one of six authors nominated for the award.

From the jury:

“Seven women arrive in a white space after death. This is a state of purgatory that precedes a final fading away; a place in which time or familiar contours don’t exist. The women who have dropped into this space represent different social classes, and are very far away from one another’s range of experiences, but each story is equally valuable. Oneiron contains innovative thematic and narrative dimensions, and invites its reader to find out about the fates of each character – with irresistible results. A demand for truthfulness and dignity runs through Lindstedt’s work. A woman’s right to her own destiny becomes a central theme. In her words Lindstedt makes visible something that is indescribable, that doesn’t exist and that can’t be expressed. She develops her themes, as well as strange and familiar moods, by creating new kind of art with words; she does so in a touching and lucid manner.”

Since its publication in August, Oneiron has been hailed by critics as a literary tour de force. In October Lindstedt was given the Toisinkoinen Prize, awarded annually to an author’s outstanding second book.

Contact the Agency for an English sample and synopsis!

Praise from critics:

“Lindstedt uses the tools of literature to form a work of art with its own rules; one can only admire her execution and her ability to depict our world to a startling effect.”
– Helsingin Sanomat newspaper, Finland

”Oneiron is like a stream that spills and spins towards something – death, at least. Before that happens, we live. Every life and death is unique. Stunning.”
Tuijata culture blog, Finland

“On an international scale this is an exceptionally bright pearl of high literature – a novel that is close to perfect.”
Aamulehti newspaper, Finland

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Turbine

Nominated for the Finlandia Prize 2015 and 2007
Nominated for the Helsingin Sanomat Literature Prize 2007

Reading material: Oneiron
English sample
English synopsis
Finnish edition


About author

Laura Lindstedt

Laura Lindstedt (b. 1976) became a critical darling with her adoption-themed debut novel Scissors (Sakset, Teos 2007), which earned her a nomination for the Finlandia Prize, the country’s most prestigious literary honour. Lindstedt’s second novel Oneiron (Teos 2015), a work of speculative fiction that takes place in the mysterious moments that follow one’s death, earned her the coveted Finlandia Prize of 2015 and was nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize in 2017. Lindstedt’s success has continued with My Friend Natalia (Teos 2019) which has earned critical acclaim and has been sold to 12 territories. Together with author Sinikka Vuola, she has authored 101 tapaa tappaa aviomies (101 Ways to Kill Your Husband, Siltala 2022) which has been nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize of 2024.

She is currently completing her Ph.D. thesis on French author Nathalie Sarraute.


2019, Literary Fiction

My Friend Natalia

Laura Lindstedt

2015, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt

2007, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt