Laura Lindstedt

Original title: Oneiron

Author: Laura Lindstedt

Published: 2015

Publisher: Teos

Genre: Literary Fiction

Pages: 400

Reading material:

English manuscript
Finnish edition
Danish edition
Norwegian edition
Swedish edition
Italian edition

Seven women meet in a white, undefined space seconds after their deaths. Time, as we understand it, has ceased to exist, and all bodily sensations seem to have disappeared.

None of the women can remember what happened to her, or how she got there. Performance artist Shlomith from New York, chief accountant Polina from Moscow, heart transplant patient Rosa Imaculada from Brazil, upper-class Nina from Marseilles who is expecting twins, Wlbgis from the Netherlands, who suffers from throat cancer, Senegalese Maimuna, who dreams of a career as a model, and Austrian teenager, Ulrike. They don’t know each other. They don’t know why they are there – or where they are. In turn they try to remember, to piece together the fragments of their lives, their identities, their lost loves, and to pinpoint the moment they left their former lives behind.

Lindstedt plays with genres from essay to poetry, transitioning from humour to rage – while asking her reader to contemplate the question of death’s inevitability and what follows it. As also in Lindstedt’s acclaimed debut novel Scissors, Oneiron addresses the challenges of communication on several levels.

Download reading materials

Rights sold:
FINLAND: Teos (orig.)
CZECH REPUBLIC: ARGO spol. s r. o.
DENMARK: Rosinante & Co
FRANCE: Gallimard
HUNGARY: Scolar Kiado
ITALY: Elliot Edizioni
LITHUANIA: Versus Aureus
NORWAY: Oktober
POLAND: Poznanskie
ROMANIA: Editura Paralela 45
SPAIN: Armaenia Editorial
SWEDEN: Norstedts
TURKEY: Everest Yayınları
WORLD ENGLISH: Oneworld Publications

Foreign covers

About author

Laura Lindstedt

Laura Lindstedt (b. 1976) became a critical darling with her adoption-themed debut novel Scissors (Sakset, Teos 2007), which earned her a nomination for the Finlandia Prize, the country’s most prestigious literary honour. She is currently revising her Ph.D. thesis on French author Nathalie Sarraute. Lindstedt’s second novel Oneiron (Teos 2015) is a work of speculative fiction that takes place in the mysterious moments that follow one’s death. Oneiron has continued Lindstedt’s critical success, earning her the coveted 2015 Finlandia Prize. Lindstedt’s latest novel My Friend Natalia has been a critical success and the rights have been sold to 12 territories.


2019, Literary Fiction

Laura Lindstedt

My Friend Natalia

2015, Literary Fiction

Laura Lindstedt


2007, Literary Fiction

Laura Lindstedt