Hungarian rights to Oneiron by Laura Lindstedt sold to Scolar

LindstedtOct23We are happy to announce the first international deal for Laura Lindstedt’s Finlandia Prize nominee, Oneiron (Teos 2015): Scolar, whose authors include Ian McEwan, Nathan Filer and Alan Hollinghurst, has acquired Hungarian rights.

“The contemporary Finnish literary scene is home to amazingly talented authors. It’s time for readers all over the world to discover them. We had the good fortune of becoming acquainted with an unparalleled new voice, Laura Lindstedt. We believe that her name will become unforgettable for Hungarian readers.”
– Andrea Illés, editor, Scolar, Hungary

Lindstedt’s critically acclaimed novel tells the story of seven women who meet in a white, undefined space after death. She is one of six authors nominated for the annual Finlandia Prize, which is considered the country’s highest literary honor. The winner will be announced on November 26th.

In October Lindstedt was given the Toisinkoinen Prize, awarded annually to an author’s outstanding second book.

From the Finlandia Prize jury:

“Seven women arrive in a white space after death. This is a state of purgatory that precedes a final fading away; a place in which time or familiar contours don’t exist. The women who have dropped into this space represent different social classes, and are very far away from one another’s range of experiences, but each story is equally valuable. Oneiron contains innovative thematic and narrative dimensions, and invites its reader to find out about the fates of each character – with irresistible results. A demand for truthfulness and dignity runs through Lindstedt’s work. A woman’s right to her own destiny becomes a central theme. In her words Lindstedt makes visible something that is indescribable, that doesn’t exist and that can’t be expressed. She develops her themes, as well as strange and familiar moods, by creating new kind of art with words; she does so in a touching and lucid manner.”

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Turbine

Nominated for the Finlandia Prize 2015 and 2007
Nominated for the Helsingin Sanomat Literature Prize 2007

Reading material: Oneiron
English sample
English synopsis
Finnish edition


About author

Laura Lindstedt

Laura Lindstedt (b. 1976) became a critical darling with her adoption-themed debut novel Scissors (Sakset, Teos 2007), which earned her a nomination for the Finlandia Prize, the country’s most prestigious literary honour. Lindstedt’s second novel Oneiron (Teos 2015), a work of speculative fiction that takes place in the mysterious moments that follow one’s death, earned her the coveted Finlandia Prize of 2015 and was nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize in 2017. Lindstedt’s success has continued with My Friend Natalia (Teos 2019) which has earned critical acclaim and has been sold to 12 territories. Together with author Sinikka Vuola, she has authored 101 tapaa tappaa aviomies (101 Ways to Kill Your Husband, Siltala 2022) which has been nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize of 2024.

She is currently completing her Ph.D. thesis on French author Nathalie Sarraute.


2019, Literary Fiction

My Friend Natalia

Laura Lindstedt

2015, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt

2007, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt