Estonian rights to Monster Nanny by Tuutikki Tolonen sold to Tiritamm!

MorkovahtiNewsletterJuly22We are thrilled to announce that Tiritamm, the Estonian publisher of Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White, Tove Jansson’s Moomin series and Ian Falconer’s Olivia, has acquired rights to Tuutikki Tolonen’s Monster Nanny (Tammi 2015)! Rights were previously sold in Spanish and Catalan to La Galera and in German to Carl Hanser Verlag.

Monster Nanny is fabulous with its thrilling action and vivid characters!“
Sirje Saimre, editor, Tiritamm, Estonia

Book I in Tolonen’s middle-grade duology, illustrated by Pasi Pitkänen, will be published in Finland by Tammi this fall, while book 2 will follow in the fall of 2016.

An imaginative mix of Where the Wild Things Are, Mary Poppins and My Neighbor Totoro, Monster Nanny tells the story of a contemporary family whose daily routines are turned upside-down when a hairy, swamp-smelling creature said to be specializing in childcare shows up at their doorstep. Contact the Agency for an English sample and synopsis!

Tuutikki Tolonen (b. 1975) is the author of several acclaimed children’s books as well as plays and academic articles. She teaches creative writing and works as an editor and reporter at Vinski, Finland’s only literary journal for children.

Illustrator Pasi Pitkänen (b. 1984) has become known for his warmly absurdist and richly detailed work on several children’s books. He has also worked at Rovio Entertainment as an illustrator, character designer and graphic designer.

Original publisher: FINLAND, Tammi
ESTONIA, Tiritamm
GERMANY, Carl Hanser Verlag
SPAIN (Spanish), La Galera
SPAIN (Catalan), La Galera

Reading materials:
English sample
English synopsis
Full Finnish text


About author

Tuutikki Tolonen

Tuutikki Tolonen is the author of several acclaimed children’s books, plays and academic articles. For Monster Nanny she received the Arvid Lydecken award. She teaches creative writing and has worked as an editor and reporter at Vinski, a Finnish literary magazine for children. Her inspiration for the Monster Nanny trilogy sparked during a family breakfast. “My son Leo, then six, said: ‘I heard on the radio yesterday that all moms have to go on vacation and monsters will take their places,” she says.

Tolonen is currently writing the Agnes series, of which the first book "Agnes and the Garden of Dreams" was in 2021 nominated for the Arvid Lydecken Award, received an honorable mention for the Runeberg Junior Award, and won the Luku Varkaus Award.


2022, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Agnes and the Shadow in the Window

Tuutikki Tolonen

2021, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Agnes and the Mysterious Manor

Tuutikki Tolonen

2020, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Monster Message

Tuutikki Tolonen

2020, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Agnes and the Garden of Dreams

Tuutikki Tolonen

2016, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Monster Route

Tuutikki Tolonen

2015, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Monster Nanny

Tuutikki Tolonen