AGNES AND THE SHADOW IN THE WINDOW now sold to Estonia pre-publication!

We are really happy to announce that the final title in Agnes series – AGNES AND THE SHADOW IN THE WINDOW has now been acquired by Eesti Raamat in Estonia!
The deal was closed by Toomas Aasmäe at Elina Ahlback Literary Agency

The books of the „Agnes“ series masterfully interweave the past and the present, fascinating us with the mysterious atmosphere and beautiful illustrations. Despite of the serious topics covered, the books leave a bright impression and are very enjoyable to read.
– Reet Trummal, Head of Children’s and YA literature, Eesti Raamat, Estonia

The series has 7 international publishers, but the rights are still available in the US, UK, Germany,  Italy, Sweden, Poland, Hungary, Norway, Lithuania etc.

Download the English samples and synopses for the trilogy here.


NEW: #3 Agnes and the Shadow in the Window

The acclaimed series continues!
Agnes and her mother have moved into their mysterious manor where summer camps are held. Suddenly, drawings that no one claims to have drawn appear during the summer arts camp. A strange shadow is captured by Agnes’s camera, as if someone is standing next to the window in the empty room. Does the manor have more secrets to share?

#1 Agnes and the Garden of Dreams

Moving to a new city is frightening enough for 11-year-old Agnes. But when she makes an exciting discovery at the local cemetery, the summer isn’t the same anymore!
Everything began on that one summer day when Agnes walked through the cemetery gate. She had just moved to a boring new town and left behind her old home and friends. But then something weird happened and her life became more exciting than ever!
She finds a tombstone that has the name Agnes on it – and the same birthday as hers! From that day on, Agnes keeps having dreams of a girl who hides a key in a beautiful garden. When Agnes stumbles upon the same garden, she knows she must find the key. But what will it open?

#2 Agnes and the Mysterious Mansion

Agnes’ adventures continue in this sequel that is both a ghost story and a family mystery.
Agnes and her mother have inherited a beautiful old villa, but there seems to be something strange about it. There is a lovely scent of flowers in the air, even though there aren’t any flowers in the houses. Every morning, the lid of an old piano is found open even though no one has been playing it. More importantly, why can they hear steps on the staircase to the attic?


Agnes is a very charming story about friendship and family, it is gripping and heartwarming at the same time. Tuutikki Tolonen takes us to a place full of mysteries and dreams and she creates an atmosphere where the reader immediately feels comfortable. We are very happy to welcome Agnes to our list!
– Wiebke Andersen, Editor, Carlsen Verlag, Germany

by Tuutikki Tolonen, illustrated by Kati Vuorento

WSOY 2020-2022.

Rights sold for the series:


ESTONIA: Eesti Raamat
GERMANY: Carlsen Verlag
ROMANIA: Editura Paralela
RUSSIA: Rosman

About author

Kati Vuorento

Kati Vuorento is an illustrator living and working in Espoo, Finland: ”In small details there is an infinite magic. I want my illustrations to stir emotion in the audience. Empathizing is important to me. In my illustrations, I always include approachable characteristics to even the most hardened anti-hero. This is how I mold the characters into personalities with depth and dimension.”

She is the illustrator of middle-grade Agnes Series by Tuutikki Tolonen that in 2021 was nominated for the Arvid Lydecken Award, received an honorable mention for the Runeberg Junior Award, and won the Luku Varkaus Award!

About author

Tuutikki Tolonen

Tuutikki Tolonen is the author of several acclaimed children’s books, plays and academic articles. She teaches creative writing and has worked as an editor and reporter at Vinski, a Finnish literary magazine for children. For Monster Nanny she received the Arvid Lydecken award.  Her inspiration for the Monster Nanny trilogy sparked during a family breakfast. “My son Leo, then six, said: ‘I heard on the radio yesterday that all moms have to go on vacation and monsters will take their places,” she says.

Her other bestselling series is the Agnes-series, of which the first book "Agnes and the Garden of Dreams" was in 2021 nominated for the Arvid Lydecken Award, received an honorable mention for the Runeberg Junior Award, and won the Luku Varkaus Award. Tolonen tells that the inspiration for Agnes comes for her interest for weird and inexpicable tales, ghost stories and mysteries: "I wanted to write a book my daughter Aili, then nine, would like to read - not too long, not too scary, but very curious."