MONSTER NANNY by Tuutikki Tolonen and Pasi Pitkänen sold to Slovakia! Now 35 territories!

We are thrilled to let you know that the Slovak rights for MONSTER NANNY, book #1 in the internationally bestselling middle-grade trilogy by Tuutikki Tolonen and Pasi Pitkänen, have been acquired by Arkus! The deal was closed by Sten-Erik Tammemäe at Elina Ahlback Literary Agency.

Arkus, founded in 1992, publishes both Slovak and international authors and two magazines for children. They focus on titles for children and young adults, but also publish crime and thrillers, non-fiction and leisure books. 

With Slovakia, the award-winning MONSTER NANNY trilogy has now been sold to 35 territories and a feature film, co-produced by Ridley Scott’s Scott Free Productions, is in development!

The rights for the series are still available in Bulgaria, Japan, Iceland, Thailand, Indonesia…

Download the materials for MONSTER NANNY here!

Tammi, 2015, 303 pp.

Rights sold:
FINLAND: Tammi (orig.)
ALBANIA: Westprint
AUSTRALIA: Allen & Unwin
BRAZIL: DarkSide Books
CATALAN: La Galera
CHINA: Beijing Children and Juvenile Publishing House
CZECH REPUBLIC: Portál, s. r. o.
DENMARK: Turbine forlaget
ESTONIA: Tiritamm
FRANCE: Robert Laffont
GERMANY: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH & CO. KG.
GREECE: Patakis Publishers
HUNGARY: Tessloff Babilon
ITALY: Salani
KOREA: Seosawon Co., Ltd.
LATVIA: Zvaigzne ABC Publishers
LITHUANIA: Nieko Rimto / Publishing House Nothing Serious
NETHERLANDS: Luitingh-Sijthoff
NEW ZEALAND: Allen & Unwin
NORWAY: Gyldendal
POLAND: Vesper
ROMANIA: Editura Univers SRL
RUSSIA: Rosman
SERBIA: Laguna
SLOVENIA: Mladinska Knjiga Zalozba
SPAIN: La Galera
SWEDEN: Rabén & Sjögren
TURKEY: SEV Publishing / Redhouse Kidz
UKRAINE: School Publishing House
UNITED STATES: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
VIETNAM: Nha Nam Publishing

Reading materials:
English edition

About author

Tuutikki Tolonen

Tuutikki Tolonen is the author of several acclaimed children’s books, plays and academic articles. She teaches creative writing and has worked as an editor and reporter at Vinski, a Finnish literary magazine for children. For Monster Nanny she received the Arvid Lydecken award.  Her inspiration for the Monster Nanny trilogy sparked during a family breakfast. “My son Leo, then six, said: ‘I heard on the radio yesterday that all moms have to go on vacation and monsters will take their places,” she says.

Her other bestselling series is the Agnes-series, of which the first book "Agnes and the Garden of Dreams" was in 2021 nominated for the Arvid Lydecken Award, received an honorable mention for the Runeberg Junior Award, and won the Luku Varkaus Award. Tolonen tells that the inspiration for Agnes comes for her interest for weird and inexpicable tales, ghost stories and mysteries: "I wanted to write a book my daughter Aili, then nine, would like to read - not too long, not too scary, but very curious."


2024, Picture Books (0-3 Years)

The Secret Ones

Tuutikki Tolonen

2022, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Agnes and the Shadow in the Window

Tuutikki Tolonen

2021, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Agnes and the Mysterious Manor

Tuutikki Tolonen

2020, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Monster Message

Tuutikki Tolonen

2020, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Agnes and the Garden of Dreams

Tuutikki Tolonen

2016, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Monster Route

Tuutikki Tolonen

2015, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Monster Nanny

Tuutikki Tolonen