Advance U.S praise for Memory of Water

Itaranta w HarperCollins cover 140206 NEWEmmi Itäranta’s acclaimed debut novel Memory of Water (Teemestarin kirja, Teos 2012) will be published in the UK and U.S by HarperCollins (Voyager) on May 6th and June 10th, respectively. Prior to its English-language release, the book is already generating serious critical buzz.

Itäranta was recently included on New York Times bestselling novelist Joshilyn Jackson’s e-book sampler entitled The New Voices in Fiction Sampler: Summer Selection. The volume of excerpts includes new and upcoming titles by noteworthy debut fiction authors.

Voyager, a HarperCollins imprint focusing on fantasy and science fiction, has described Memory of Water as “an amazing, award-winning speculative fiction debut novel by a major new talent, in the vein of Ursula K. Le Guin.” Itäranta’s accolades include the Kalevi Jäntti Literary Prize for young authors in 2012 and the Young Aleksis Kivi Prize in 2013.

Set in a dystopian future where water has become a prized commodity, Memory of Water tells the story of 17-year-old Noria who is set to become the next tea master in her village. When her father dies, she assumes the dangerous responsibility of guarding a hidden spring. Will she be able to safeguard this secret, or will it become exposed with disastrous consequences?

World English, HarperCollins
Arabic, Dar Al Muna
Czech, Plus
Denmark, Turbine
Estonia, Koolibri
France, Place des Editeurs
Germany, DTV/Reihe Hanser
Hungary, Metropolis Media
Italy, Piemme
Japan, Nishimura Shoten
Spain, Ediciones B.
Turkey, Dogan Egmont

Original publisher: Finland, Teos

Reading material:
Full English text


About author

Emmi Itäranta

Emmi Itäranta (b.1976) holds two MA degrees, one in Drama and another in Creative Writing. Her award-winning debut novel Memory of Water (Teemestarin kirja) was published in Finland in 2012 to great accolades, followed by The Weaver (Kudottujen kujien kaupunki) in 2015. Her latest novel The Moonday Letters (Kuunpäivän kirjeet) was published in September 2020.

Itäranta’s writing has been compared to that of Ursula K. Le Guin. Her honours include the Young Aleksis Kivi Prize 2013, the Kalevi Jäntti Literary Prize 2012 and first place in the Teos Fantasy and Sci-Fi Literary Contest 2011.

Memory of Water has sold to over 25 languages to date, and it has also been nominated for the Philip K. Dick Award, the Arthur C. Clarke Award recognizing the best science fiction novel published in the UK in 2014, and the Golden Tentacle award. In addition, Itäranta has been included on the Honor List of the Otherwise Award (formerly James Tiptree, Jr. Award).

Itäranta’s CV is an eclectic mix of writing-related activities, including stints as a columnist, theatre critic, press officer and dramaturge. Her poems, short stories, articles and essays have appeared in anthologies, film magazines and science fiction magazines in the UK and Finland. She now lives in Finland after 14 years in the United Kingdom.


2020, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Moonday Letters

Emmi Itäranta

2015, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Weaver

Emmi Itäranta

2012, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Memory of Water

Emmi Itäranta