Forlaget Oktober acquires Norwegian rights of Finlandia prize winner Oneiron by Laura Lindstedt

We are delighted to announce that the Norwegian publishing house, Forlaget Oktober, has acquired Norwegian rights of the Finlandia Prize winner, Oneiron by Laura Lindstedt (Teos 2015).Forlaget Oktober is one of the leading Norwegian publishing houses and it is home to authors such as Karl Ove Knausgård, Linn Ullman, Marguerite Duras, Søren Kierkegaard, and Sofi Oksanen.

Lindstedt writes with an exceptional strength and originality. The story is well told and it is absolutely fascinating. I am filled with admiration. We strongly believe in Lindstedt – not only in Oneiron, but also in her entire (future) literary work – and we want to be the publishing house that introduces her to the Norwegian readers. 

-Signe E. Russwurm, Editor, Forlaget OktoberLindstedt_Oneiron_cover

Lindstedt’s acclaimed novel tells the story of seven women from different corners of the world who meet in a white, undefined space after death. With close to 50.000 copies sold in Finland, Oneiron was the highest-selling literary fiction title on the most recent bestseller list. Oneiron is also nominated for Runeberg Prize.

Oneiron has now been sold to 8 territories – rights were previously sold to Oneworld for English rights, to Gallimard in France, to Norstedts in Sweden, and to Rosinate in Denmark. See full list of rights sold below.


Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Rosinante
FRANCE, Gallimard
LITHUANIA, Versus Aureus
NORWAY, Forlaget Oktober
SWEDEN, Norstedts

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Turbine

Prizes, Oneiron
Finlandia Prize 2015
Toisinkoinen Prize 2015
Nominated for the Runeberg Prize 2015

Prizes, Scissors:
Nominated for the Finlandia Prize 2007
Nominated for the Helsingin Sanomat Literature Prize 2007

Reading material: Oneiron
English sample
English synopsis
Finnish edition


Copyright © 2016 Elina Ahlback Literary Agency, All rights reserved.
Elina Ahlback Literary Agency’s newsletter

Our mailing address is:

Elina Ahlback Literary Agency

Unioninkatu 20-22

Helsinki 00130


About author

Laura Lindstedt

Laura Lindstedt (b. 1976) became a critical darling with her adoption-themed debut novel Scissors (Sakset, Teos 2007), which earned her a nomination for the Finlandia Prize, the country’s most prestigious literary honour. Lindstedt’s second novel Oneiron (Teos 2015), a work of speculative fiction that takes place in the mysterious moments that follow one’s death, earned her the coveted Finlandia Prize of 2015 and was nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize in 2017. Lindstedt’s success has continued with My Friend Natalia (Teos 2019) which has earned critical acclaim and has been sold to 12 territories. Together with author Sinikka Vuola, she has authored 101 tapaa tappaa aviomies (101 Ways to Kill Your Husband, Siltala 2022) which has been nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize of 2024.

She is currently completing her Ph.D. thesis on French author Nathalie Sarraute.


2019, Literary Fiction

My Friend Natalia

Laura Lindstedt

2015, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt

2007, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt