World English rights to Finlandia winner Oneiron by Laura Lindstedt sold in pre-empt to Oneworld


We are happy to announce that the British boutique publishing house, Oneworld, has acquired World English rights of the Finlandia Prize winner, Oneiron by Laura Lindstedt (Teos 2015). The Bloomsbury-based Oneworld is known for introducing bold new literary voices and award-winning fiction from around the world, including Jamaican author Marlon James’ Man Booker prize winner A Brief History of Seven Killings, Eugene Vodolazkin, winner of the two biggest literary awards in Russia with his medieval novel, Laurus, and the multi-award-winning Goncourt finalist The Meursault Investigation by Algerian writer Kamel Daoud.

“We are thrilled to secure a second Finlandia prize-winner. This is a novel to love, from Lindstedt’s richly drawn characters and exquisite prose to her clever range of narrative devices and complex plotting, throughout which she threads her subtle power games and metaphysical questions. A brilliant second novel from a rising star, it will be a very welcome addition to our growing list of literary translations.”Juliet Mabey, Publisher, Oneworld Publications

Lindstedt’s acclaimed novel tells the story of seven women from different corners of the world who meet in a white, undefined space after death. With more than  40.000 copies sold in Finland, Oneiron was the highest-selling literary fiction title on the most recent bestseller list. Oneiron is also nominated for the Runeberg Prize.

Oneiron has now been sold to 7 territories – rights were previously sold in Sweden to Norstedts, in Denmark to Rosinante (in pre-empt), in Hungary to Scolar, in Bulgaria to Faber, in Lithuania to Versus Aureus, and in France to Gallimard (in pre-empt).

Oneworld will publish Oneiron in hardback in September 2017.


Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Rosinante
FRANCE, Gallimard
LITHUANIA, Versus Aureus
SWEDEN, Norstedts
WORLD ENGLISH, Oneworld Publications

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Turbine

Prizes, Oneiron
Finlandia Prize 2015
Toisinkoinen Prize 2015
Nominated for the Runeberg Prize 2015

Prizes, Scissors:
Nominated for the Finlandia Prize 2007
Nominated for the Helsingin Sanomat Literature Prize 2007

Reading material: Oneiron
English sample
English synopsis
Finnish edition


About author

Laura Lindstedt

Laura Lindstedt (b. 1976) became a critical darling with her adoption-themed debut novel Scissors (Sakset, Teos 2007), which earned her a nomination for the Finlandia Prize, the country’s most prestigious literary honour. Lindstedt’s second novel Oneiron (Teos 2015), a work of speculative fiction that takes place in the mysterious moments that follow one’s death, earned her the coveted Finlandia Prize of 2015 and was nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize in 2017. Lindstedt’s success has continued with My Friend Natalia (Teos 2019) which has earned critical acclaim and has been sold to 12 territories. Together with author Sinikka Vuola, she has authored 101 tapaa tappaa aviomies (101 Ways to Kill Your Husband, Siltala 2022) which has been nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize of 2024.

She is currently completing her Ph.D. thesis on French author Nathalie Sarraute.


2019, Literary Fiction

My Friend Natalia

Laura Lindstedt

2015, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt

2007, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt