Gallimard pre-empted the French rights of Finlandia Winner Oneiron by Laura Lindstedt

We are thrilled to announce that the prestigious French publishing house, Gallimard, has acquired French rights in a pre-empt to the Finlandia Prize winner, Oneiron by Laura Lindstedt (Teos 2015). Gallimard is one of the leading French publishing houses and it is home to authors such as Patrick Modiano, Albert Camus, and Franz Kafka.

“When I started reading the novel and I experienced the intensity of Lindstedt’s writing, the suspenseful atmosphere she creates from the very beginning, I understood I was facing a “chef-d’oeuvre”. Her capacity to combine a fascinating story while building a reflection on the meaning of life and death is astonishing. We are immensely proud to welcome her at Gallimard .”

Marie-Pierre Gracedieu, Gallimard

Lindstedt’s acclaimed novel tells the story of seven women from different corners of the world who meet in a white, undefined space after death. With more than  40.000 copies sold in Finland, Oneiron was the highest-selling literary fiction title on the most recent bestseller list. Oneiron is also nominated for Runeberg Prize.

Rights were previously sold in Sweden to Norstedts, in Denmark to Rosinante (in pre-empt), in Hungary to Scolar, in Bulgaria to Faber, and in Lithuania to Versus Aureus.


Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Rosinante
FRANCE, Gallimard
LITHUANIA, Versus Aureus
SWEDEN, Norstedts

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Turbine

Prizes, Oneiron
Finlandia Prize 2015
Toisinkoinen Prize 2015
Nominated for the Runeberg Prize 2015

Prizes, Scissors:
Nominated for the Finlandia Prize 2007
Nominated for the Helsingin Sanomat Literature Prize 2007

Reading material: Oneiron
English sample
English synopsis
Finnish edition




About author

Laura Lindstedt

Laura Lindstedt (b. 1976) became a critical darling with her adoption-themed debut novel Scissors (Sakset, Teos 2007), which earned her a nomination for the Finlandia Prize, the country’s most prestigious literary honour. Lindstedt’s second novel Oneiron (Teos 2015), a work of speculative fiction that takes place in the mysterious moments that follow one’s death, earned her the coveted Finlandia Prize of 2015 and was nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize in 2017. Lindstedt’s success has continued with My Friend Natalia (Teos 2019) which has earned critical acclaim and has been sold to 12 territories. Together with author Sinikka Vuola, she has authored 101 tapaa tappaa aviomies (101 Ways to Kill Your Husband, Siltala 2022) which has been nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize of 2024.

She is currently completing her Ph.D. thesis on French author Nathalie Sarraute.


2019, Literary Fiction

My Friend Natalia

Laura Lindstedt

2015, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt

2007, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt