The Act of Gladius

Tuomas Oskari

Original title: Miekka

Author: Tuomas Oskari

Published: 2022

Publisher: Otava

Genre: Crime & Suspense

Pages: 363

Part of a series: Leo Koski series

Reading material:

English synopsis

Dark forces are returning to Europe. 

✓  For fans of Dan Brown and David Baldacci

✓  Book #1 was chosen as BookBeat Newcomer of the Year 2021!

The refugee crisis following the economic collapse pushes tensions within Europe to the extreme. As the Prime Minister of Italy arrives in Helsinki, a sniper's bullet ignites the powder keg.

The former Prime Minister of Finland, Leo Koski, believes himself to be a redundant retiree at 36, but an invitation to come to Helsinki in a disguise leads him to the focal point of the crisis. Leo encounters Sara, a young historian, who believes she knows what's behind the rapidly unfolding chain of events.

Who is Heimdall, whose plans threaten the lives of both the powerful and desperate refugees? Whose hands will the heavy sword of justice fall into?

Act of Gladius works well as a thriller thanks to its fast-paced narrative and strongly suspenseful parts. Especially the events that take place on the Silja Symphony ship, transformed into a refugee center, are skillfully depicted. … The rising of the far-right forces in Europe, the aggravation of the refugee crisis, and the threat of terrorism are depicted in a very concrete manner, while these constitute only one of several elements of the thriller.

Helsingin Sanomat newspaper

Download reading materials

Rights sold:
FINLAND: Otava (orig.)

About author

Tuomas Oskari

Tuomas Oskari is the international pen name of Tuomas Niskakangas, a crime author and a politics and economics journalist for Helsingin Sanomat, the biggest newspaper in Finland. He has a Master in Economics. Formerly Niskakangas has worked in Washington, D.C. as the USA correspondent for Helsingin Sanomat.

Bibliography


2024, Crime & Suspense

Tuomas Oskari

The Eagle


2022, Crime & Suspense

Tuomas Oskari

The Act of Gladius


2021, Crime & Suspense

Tuomas Oskari

Their Turn to Burn