Flee Before the Dawn

Eeva Louko

Original title: Pakene ennen aamua

Author: Eeva Louko

Published: 2023

Publisher: Otava

Genre: Crime & Suspense

Pages: 383

Part of a series: Ronja Vaara series

Reading material:

English synopsis 

Messy relationships, surprising twists, and harrowing thrills. Read in one sitting.

✓  Eeva Louko’s debut sold over 22,000 copies and received glowing reviews!

✓  Rights sold in 5 territories and counting!

✓  A crime series for millennials: surprising twists and relationship drama!

Ronja, Milla and Ansku together with their partners decide on a weekend getaway on the island of the historical Bengtskär lighthouse to enjoy sauna and relax. Milla also wants to introduce her new partner, a celebrity businessman.

The group barely has time to raise a toast before the mini getaway turns into a big nightmare. An autumn storm wreaks havoc, and Milla is missing as the women are meant to go to the sauna. The storm makes searching for Milla hard and cuts off the connection to the mainland. As the night advances, it becomes painfully clear that Milla’s disappearance is only the beginning.

Eeva Louko’s Ronja Vaara series was an immediate hit in Finland upon its publication in 2022, with the debut MURDER ON THE ISLE OF BLISS selling over 22,000 copies and the sequel LAND OF SERPENTS being a bestseller and critically acclaimed as well. The friendships between women in their 30s and 40s and the relatability of their everyday life combined with thrilling plotlines is a combination that is hard to put down.

Eeva Louko has an excellent penmanship, the plot is fluid and the dialogues brilliant [--]. The analysis of the characters is perfectly centered, and they are well-rounded. I look forward to the next part.

– Marina Toniolo on thrillernord.it, Italy

Download reading materials

Rights sold:
FINLAND: Otava (orig.)

About author

Eeva Louko

Eeva Louko (b. 1982) is a reporter and communications professional who loves literature, music and all things creative. Becoming an author has been Eeva’s dream since she learned how to read, and she is especially drawn to crime fiction and horror. Eeva plays the saxophone and piano and always drinks her coffee from the biggest cup possible in her garden surrounded by vines.

Murder on the Isle of Bliss (Otava, 2022) is Louko’s debut novel which was published to rave reviews. Eeva’s dream is to find readers globally and create a long-lasting crime fiction series.


2023, Crime & Suspense

Eeva Louko

Flee Before the Dawn

2022, Crime & Suspense

Eeva Louko

Land of Serpents

2022, Crime & Suspense

Eeva Louko

Murder on the Isle of Bliss