THE HORNED GOD by Magdalena Hai sold to Norway

We are happy to announce that THE HORNED GOD by Magdalena Hai, winner of the Finlandia Prize 2023, has been sold to Norway! Gursli Berg acquired the Norwegian rights in a deal closed by Anna Kappauf at Elina Ahlback Agency.

This is the second deal for this outstanding YA title (the Danish rights were sold last week) which is also nominated for the Runeberg Prize 2024. Magdalena Hai has previously won the Finnish Literary Export Prize (2017), Kaarina Helakisa Prize (2020), and Kuvastaja Award (2022), and her books have been sold into 30 languages.

Gursli Berg are a well-established independent Norwegian publisher and home of authors like Maria Turtschaninoff, Colleen Hoover, Richard Osman, Maggie O’Farrell and many others.

Curious to find our more about this award-winning title?

Download the materials for THE HORNED GOD here!


Otava, March 2023, 162 pp.
Age group: 13+

Rights sold:
FINLAND: Otava (orig.)
NORWAY: Gursli Berg

Reading materials:
English sample and synopsis




About author

Magdalena Hai

Magdalena Hai is an award-winning author, lover of cross-genre fiction and all things strange. Her fiction often combines elements of sci-fi, fantasy and horror.

Her Little Shop of Nightmares series has been sold to 30 territories around the world. Among Hai's many accolades are winning the Finlandia Prize for children's and YA literature and the Finnish Literary Export Prize, and being nominated  the Nordic Council Children & Young People's Literature Prize.

Besides being an author, Hai teaches writing and is an active member and editor in the publishing co-operative Osuuskumma.


2023, Chapter Books (6-9 Years)

Little Shop of Nightmares 4: The Crystal Skull

Magdalena Hai

2023, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Horned God

Magdalena Hai

2021, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Spell of Iset

Magdalena Hai

2021, Chapter Books (6-9 Years)

Little Shop of Nightmares 3: Sticky the Horrible Snowman

Magdalena Hai

2020, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Miss Swift’s Weird and Wonderful House

Magdalena Hai

2019, Chapter Books (6-9 Years)

Little Shop of Nightmares 2: The Mystery of the Missing Teeth

Magdalena Hai

2018, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

The Third Sister

Magdalena Hai

2018, Chapter Books (6-9 Years)

Little Shop of Nightmares 1: The Terrible Tickling Powder

Magdalena Hai

2017, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Grumblebelly Cat

Magdalena Hai

2012, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

The Beggar Princess

Magdalena Hai