The Spell of Iset

Magdalena Hai

Original title: Isetin solmu

Author: Magdalena Hai

Published: 2021

Publisher: Otava

Genre: Young Adult (13 or 14+)

Pages: 687

Part of a series: The Royaume Chronicles

Reading material:

Finnish full text, English synopsis

Highly imaginative world-building and mythological storytelling in a YA Space-Witch series inspired by Hayao Miyazaki, Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones

Finlandia Prize nominated series!

A series partly based on Earth and partly on the witch planet, Royaume, where the eternal night reigns!

Magdalena Hai’s works have been sold to over 25 countries!

What happens to Earth when the elves return? The magnificent fantasy adventure continues.

After battling the great witches, Lune seeks to understand her mysterious power and erratic boyfriend Niemann. At the same time, the Elven forest gate opened by Lune has begun to live its own life. The beautiful Elven people are now flowing back to Earth from which they had been banished by the Principal. In Royaume, the Black Witch makes a grand re-entrance, but for the first time in a thousand years a rebellion is smoldering in the realm. The brilliant Minuit is stalked by a different kind of threat – a new court witch who wants nothing less than her heart.

The first installment of the series, The Third Sister, was nominated for the Finlandia Prize in Children’s and Youth Literature.

The clever and entertaining novel lures the reader into its magical world, and doesn’t let go. The layered, surprising, and multi-level story slowly unfolds and reveals its secrets. The language and worlds of the work, the intriguing rhythm, and the description of the person form a delicious and intact whole.

Finlandia Prize Jury on The Third Sister

Download reading materials

Rights sold:
FINLAND: Otava (orig.)


About author

Magdalena Hai

Magdalena Hai is an award-winning author, lover of cross-genre fiction and all things strange. Her fiction often combines elements of sci-fi, fantasy and horror.

Her Little Shop of Nightmares series has been sold to 30 territories around the world. Among Hai's many accolades are winning the Finlandia Prize for children's and YA literature and the Finnish Literary Export Prize, and being nominated  the Nordic Council Children & Young People's Literature Prize.

Besides being an author, Hai teaches writing and is an active member and editor in the publishing co-operative Osuuskumma.


2023, Chapter Books (6-9 Years)

Magdalena Hai

Little Shop of Nightmares 4: The Crystal Skull

2023, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

Magdalena Hai

The Horned God

2021, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

Magdalena Hai

The Spell of Iset

2021, Chapter Books (6-9 Years)

Magdalena Hai

Little Shop of Nightmares 3: Sticky the Horrible Snowman

2020, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Magdalena Hai

Miss Swift’s Weird and Wonderful House

2019, Chapter Books (6-9 Years)

Magdalena Hai

Little Shop of Nightmares 2: The Mystery of the Missing Teeth

2018, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

Magdalena Hai

The Third Sister

2018, Chapter Books (6-9 Years)

Magdalena Hai

Little Shop of Nightmares 1: The Terrible Tickling Powder

2017, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Magdalena Hai

Grumblebelly Cat

2012, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Magdalena Hai

The Beggar Princess