Rights to Emmi Itäranta’s Memory of Water sold in Hungary

2011 TEOS Emmi Ita╠êranta 2011 01We are happy to announce that Metropolis Media has acquired the Hungarian rights to Emmi Itäranta’s award-winning novel Memory of Water (Teemestarin kirja, Teos 2012) and her second novel City of Woven Streets (working title) in a two-book deal. Set in a dystopian future where water has become a prized commodity, Memory of Water tells the story of 17-year-old Noria who is set to become the next tea master in her village. When her father dies, she assumes the dangerous responsibility of guarding a hidden spring.

Among Emmi Itäranta’s accolades have been the Finnish Kalevi Jäntti Literary Prize for young authors in 2012, and 2013’s Young Aleksis Kivi Prize.

“Emmi Itäranta is a powerful new voice in speculative fiction with wonderful touches of Atwood-style world building,” says HarperCollins, Itäranta’s publisher in World English. Memory of Water will be published in the U.S and UK on June 10th, 2014.

“Memory of Water is an emotionally nuanced moral study that draws its tensions from love, choices and the mark we all leave on the world,” wrote Finland’s largest newspaper Helsingin Sanomat.

Rights sold:
World English, HarperCollins
Arabic, Dar Al Muna
Czech, Plus
Denmark, Turbine
Estonia, Koolibri
France, Place des Editeurs
Germany, DTV/Reihe Hanser
Hungary, Metropolis Media
Italy, Piemme
Spain, Ediciones B.
Turkey, Dogan Egmont

Original publisher: Finland, Teos

Reading material:
Full English text

Contact: info@ahlbackagency.com

About author

Emmi Itäranta

Emmi Itäranta (b.1976) holds two MA degrees, one in Drama and another in Creative Writing. Her award-winning debut novel Memory of Water (Teemestarin kirja) was published in Finland in 2012 to great accolades, followed by The Weaver (Kudottujen kujien kaupunki) in 2015. Her latest novel The Moonday Letters (Kuunpäivän kirjeet) was published in September 2020.

Itäranta’s writing has been compared to that of Ursula K. Le Guin. Her honours include the Young Aleksis Kivi Prize 2013, the Kalevi Jäntti Literary Prize 2012 and first place in the Teos Fantasy and Sci-Fi Literary Contest 2011.

Memory of Water has sold to over 25 languages to date, and it has also been nominated for the Philip K. Dick Award, the Arthur C. Clarke Award recognizing the best science fiction novel published in the UK in 2014, and the Golden Tentacle award. In addition, Itäranta has been included on the Honor List of the Otherwise Award (formerly James Tiptree, Jr. Award).

Itäranta’s CV is an eclectic mix of writing-related activities, including stints as a columnist, theatre critic, press officer and dramaturge. Her poems, short stories, articles and essays have appeared in anthologies, film magazines and science fiction magazines in the UK and Finland. She now lives in Finland after 14 years in the United Kingdom.


2020, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Moonday Letters

Emmi Itäranta

2015, Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Weaver

Emmi Itäranta

2012, Fantasy & Science Fiction

Memory of Water

Emmi Itäranta