PRINCESS RASCAL series sold to Czech Republic!

We are happy to announce that the first two titles in the PRINCESS RASCAL SERIES by Elina Hirvonen, illustrated by Mervi Lindman, have now been pre-empted in the Czech Republic by Albatros Media!

A lovely, cute heroin and her true and funny stories caught my heart, not only as an editor, but especially as a mom. I´m sure all families will definitely love Princess Rascal and her pure baby heart.
Zuzana Neubauerová, Albatros Media, Czech Republic

The series has publishers in 5 languages and is still available in France, Portugal, Croatia, Slovenia, Norway, Germany, United States, UK, Japan, China, Taiwan etc.

Download the Full English pdfs for all 3 titles in the series here!


by Elina Hirvonen, illustrated by Mervi Lindman
Tammi 2017, 42 pp.

You would think that Rascal is a just a little girl, but she’s also a princess with many crowns for different purposes: one for Important Thoughts, one for Great Adventures, one for Peaceful Dreams. When Mom gets mad at her, she must find the right crown to calm Mom down.

by Elina Hirvonen, illustrated by Mervi Lindman
Tammi 2019, 42 pp.

Princess Rascal starts pre-school. She’s nervous about her new mates and new teacher. Especially nervous she is about going to the toilet. When she uses toilet words in a completely wrong situation, she’s sure that she is the most embarrassing girl in the world. But a solution for the problem can be found in her secret treasure chest.

by Elina Hirvonen, illustrated by Mervi Lindman
Tammi 2021, 44 pp.

Which spell is the best when it seems that the parents do not have enough time for themselves? Resourceful Princess Rascal has a solution to every problem!

When Mom looks like a red-eyed panda and Dad like an angry troll, and they snap at each other without any reason, it’s time for some Rascal spells and Onni’s insights. The solution is the world’s finest KISSING BOOTH.

“You have to go in there to kiss. Then you will love again. And never quarrel again.”

Tammi 2017-2021.

Rights sold:
FINLAND: Tammi (orig.)

CZECH REPUBLIC: Albatros Media (1-2)
DENMARK: Gads Forlag (1-3)
ESTONIA: Elust enesest (1-3)
LITHUANIA: Nieko Rimto/ Publishing House Nothing Serious (1)


Full English PDFs

About author

Elina Hirvonen

Elina Hirvonen is an award-winning author of adults’ and children’s prose, a journalist and documentary filmmaker. She has written four highly acclaimed adults’ novels that are at the same time tragic and beautiful. She is also known for her picture book series Princess Rascal, and a middle-grade trilogy Julia & P.A.L. Her books have been translated to 15 languages.

Her new novel, The Logbook of Love, is published in Finland in August 2023. Hirvonen has received the Kalevi Jäntti Prize and the Nuori Aleksis Prize, and has been nominated for Finlandia Prize and Debut Prize.

About author

Mervi Lindman

Mervi Lindman is a much-loved illustrator whose cheerful artworks have been published in 19 different countries to date. Lindman’s illustrations have been regularly appraised by critics and public alike.