SISTERLAND by Salla Simukka getting rave reviews in the US

We are thrilled to share some of the rave reviews that Salla Simukka’s middle-grade novel Sisterland has gotten since its recent US publication.

Fall under the spell of this contemporary fairy tale that’s perfect for fans of Emily Winfield Martin’s Snow & Rose and the Chronicles of Narnia series. English edition available. Translated by Owen Witesman.

 

While a few readers may wish for longer pauses in this Odyssey-paced journey, most will delight in the wondrous details and flexible metaphors.”
—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A girl-centered hero’s journey, at once princess-free and enchanting.”
—Kirkus

“A humorous, delightfully sweet tale of magic and sisterhood.”
—Booklist

“The enchanting writing contains rich descriptions and similes, and will be accessible to reluctant readers.“
—School Library Journal

“Enjoy the plethora of fantastic creatures and the paean to friendship.”
—Bulletin

“This book is gorgeous, lush, and dreamy with the atmosphere of fairy tales we all know and love. It’s Alice Through the Looking Glass, but for this generation. It’s a beautiful exploration of friendship and the way children forget, of bravery and the beauty of remembering.”
— Book Shop of Fort Collins, USA

 

About the book:

Welcome to Sisterland, a fantastical world where it is always summer. The most enchanting magic of all, though, is Alice’s new friend Marissa. But as the girls explore the strange land, they learn Sisterland’s endless summer comes at a price. Back on Earth, their homes are freezing over. To save their families, Alice and Marissa must outwit the powerful Queen Lili. But the deeper they go into Sisterland, the less Alice and Marissa remember about their homes, their lives before, and what they are fighting for. A wondrous tale about heroism, loyalty, and friendship from one of the most celebrated Finnish children’s authors.

About the author:
Salla Simukka is the author of the international success story The Snow White Trilogy: rights are sold in 52 territories and in Hollywood. She has written several novels for young readers and her accolades include the Topelius Prize 2013 and the Finland Prize 2013.
Her new YA novel, Detained, will be published in the fall 2020.

Rights sold:

FINLAND, Tammi (Orig.)
ARAB WORLD, Arab Scientific Publishers
BELGIUM, Clavis
CHINA, Hunan Juvenile and Children’s Publishing House
ESTONIA, Pegasus
FRANCE, Hachette Livre
JAPAN, Nishimura
LATVIA, Zvaigzne
NETHERLANDS, Clavis
UNITED STATES, Random House/Crown (World English)

Reading materials:
English edition

Salla Simukka


Salla Simukka is the author of the international success story The Snow White Trilogy: rights are sold in 52 territories and in Hollywood. She has written several novels for young readers and her accolades include the Topelius Prize 2013 and the Finland Prize 2013.

Previously Simukka has written book reviews for the newspapers, translated all kinds of texts into Finnish, worked an editor at a literary magazine and as a screenwriter for a popular TV show for young audiences. These days she writes books for young adults and children, and travels the world talking about them.

Bibliography


Salla Simukka

In the Dark I Can Be Yours

2021, Young Adult (13 or 14+)


Salla Simukka

Detained

2020, Young Adult (13 or 14+)


Salla Simukka

Turn off the Lights! Turn on the Lights!

2018, Young Adult (13 or 14+)


Salla Simukka

Sisterland

2016, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)


Salla Simukka

As Black as Ebony

2014, Young Adult (13 or 14+)


Salla Simukka

As Red as Blood

2013, Young Adult (13 or 14+)


Salla Simukka

As White as Snow

2013, Young Adult (13 or 14+)


Salla Simukka

Elsewhere

2012, Young Adult (13 or 14+)


Salla Simukka

Without a trace

2012, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

Related news