SISTERLAND by Salla Simukka getting rave reviews in the US

We are thrilled to share some of the rave reviews that Salla Simukka’s middle-grade novel Sisterland has gotten since its recent US publication.

Fall under the spell of this contemporary fairy tale that’s perfect for fans of Emily Winfield Martin’s Snow & Rose and the Chronicles of Narnia series. English edition available. Translated by Owen Witesman.

 

While a few readers may wish for longer pauses in this Odyssey-paced journey, most will delight in the wondrous details and flexible metaphors.”
—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A girl-centered hero’s journey, at once princess-free and enchanting.”
—Kirkus

“A humorous, delightfully sweet tale of magic and sisterhood.”
—Booklist

“The enchanting writing contains rich descriptions and similes, and will be accessible to reluctant readers.“
—School Library Journal

“Enjoy the plethora of fantastic creatures and the paean to friendship.”
—Bulletin

“This book is gorgeous, lush, and dreamy with the atmosphere of fairy tales we all know and love. It’s Alice Through the Looking Glass, but for this generation. It’s a beautiful exploration of friendship and the way children forget, of bravery and the beauty of remembering.”
— Book Shop of Fort Collins, USA

 

About the book:

Welcome to Sisterland, a fantastical world where it is always summer. The most enchanting magic of all, though, is Alice’s new friend Marissa. But as the girls explore the strange land, they learn Sisterland’s endless summer comes at a price. Back on Earth, their homes are freezing over. To save their families, Alice and Marissa must outwit the powerful Queen Lili. But the deeper they go into Sisterland, the less Alice and Marissa remember about their homes, their lives before, and what they are fighting for. A wondrous tale about heroism, loyalty, and friendship from one of the most celebrated Finnish children’s authors.

About the author:
Salla Simukka is the author of the international success story The Snow White Trilogy: rights are sold in 52 territories and in Hollywood. She has written several novels for young readers and her accolades include the Topelius Prize 2013 and the Finland Prize 2013.
Her new YA novel, Detained, will be published in the fall 2020.

Rights sold:

FINLAND, Tammi (Orig.)
ARAB WORLD, Arab Scientific Publishers
BELGIUM, Clavis
CHINA, Hunan Juvenile and Children’s Publishing House
ESTONIA, Pegasus
FRANCE, Hachette Livre
JAPAN, Nishimura
LATVIA, Zvaigzne
NETHERLANDS, Clavis
UNITED STATES, Random House/Crown (World English)

Reading materials:
English edition

About author


Salla Simukka

Salla Simukka is the author of the international success story The Snow White Trilogy: rights are sold in 52 territories and in Hollywood. She has written several novels for young readers and her accolades include the Topelius Prize 2013 and the Finland Prize 2013.  Where It All Begin, published in 2022, is her first novel for adults

Previously Simukka has written book reviews for the newspapers, translated all kinds of texts into Finnish, worked an editor at a literary magazine and as a screenwriter for a popular TV show for young audiences.  She has written books for young adults and children, and now also for adults, and travels the world talking about them.

Bibliography


2022, Literary Fiction

Where It All Begins

Salla Simukka


2021, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

In the Dark I Can Be Yours

Salla Simukka


2020, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

Detained

Salla Simukka


2018, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

Turn off the Lights! Turn on the Lights!

Salla Simukka


2016, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Sisterland

Salla Simukka


2014, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

As Black as Ebony

Salla Simukka


2013, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

As Red as Blood

Salla Simukka


2013, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

As White as Snow

Salla Simukka


2012, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

Elsewhere

Salla Simukka


2012, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

Without a trace

Salla Simukka